2 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Broods - Evergreen Album Review

11 Sep 2014 // A review by Ria Loveder

I was so excited to be able to review Broods’ debut album Evergreen, which was released on the 22nd of August. Broods are a brother sister duo from Nelson. Composed of Georgia Nott on lead vocals and Caleb Nott on production and backing vocals. The band is produced by New Zealand musician, producer and Silver Scroll and Grammy award winning songwriter Joel Little, who has co-written and produced most of New Zealand sensation Lorde’s work.

Evergreen is a wonderful example of electronic based music. The album encapsulates the ideas of longing, life, forgetfulness and homesickness. The lyrics are intimate and paint wonderful images that enable you to be taken on a powerful emotional and musical journey. For a pair aged in their early 20s it surprises me how mature their lyrics are, and shocks me that they are in the same age area as me! They have an advanced outlook and use these ideas to develop and enhance their songs.

Highlights from this album for me are LAF. An upbeat hand clapping tune that gets you moving. I may have utilized the power of the repeat button for this song, and may have been seen by my neighbours swishing my head back and forth, hair flying, and limbs akimbo. This is a wonderful example of a lively and dynamic tune at its finest.

Also, Evergreen. A mellow, syncopated song with a haunting tune. A beautifully crafted song with beautiful lyrics, ‘Since we found out that we're invincible, We've been living in a dream world, Since we decided to be infinite, There's no ending and there's no fear’.

Lastly, Four Walls. With its piano ballad it is a gorgeous contrast to the rest of the album. The melody carries the song wonderfully with well layered vocal harmonies, and I believe showcases Georgia’s vocals perfectly. 

As you can probably tell, I thoroughly enjoyed this album. It holds well-crafted songs and I believe is a great first album for these two musicians. I also must add that I heard their acoustic version of Mother & Father some time ago and would highly recommend you to listen to it if you can find it on the fabulous world of the internet. It definitely showcases how talented these musicians are.

Evergreen
View Track Listing
 

About Broods

Meet Broods; the brother-sister duo of Georgia and Caleb Nott who hail from Nelson, and are now based in Auckland. It's been whirlwind time for the two who independently released their debut single Bridges to a heated bidding war to sign the group. Broods signed with Capitol Records in the USA, Polydor Records in the UK, and Island Australia & Universal NZ.

Georgia and Caleb started playing together around the age of ten, more recently, playing together as part of (the now defunct) Peasants. The two started spending time with Joel Little in the studio while he was also working on Lorde's Grammy nominated Pure Heroine.

Their song Bridges has clocked over 300,000 plays on Soundcloud, and Hypemachine says they are “pretty much destined for pop success”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Broods

Releases

Conscious
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Broods
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Evergreen
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem