19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stefan Wolf - Album Review: Brand New Life

06 Sep 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Brand New Life is a collection of Stefan Wolf's ballads written between 2008 and 2014. 

As well as new tracks, the album, Stefan Wolf's first Long Play since 1999's Sailor, includes selected tracks from the trilogy of EPs, 2009's How Much Do I Get For A Fiver?, 2011's Der Klischee, and Quiet! Can't You See I'm Dying Here? which I had the pleasure of reviewing for muzic.net.nz back in 2012 (http://www.muzic.net.nz/articles/reviews/47048/unknown-quiet-cant-you-see-im-dying-here-ep-review).

While I enjoyed the home recorded aesthetic of Wolf's previous releases, I must say the songs sound a lot better in their remastered form.  The new mix brings Wolf's unique voice, one of the draw points of his music, to the fore. As a whole, it's a very professional mastering job all round and makes for a cohesive listening experience, as opposed to a jumpy copy & paste collection of greatest hits. 

As well as a professional gloss, it's good to see the full band treatment brought out for Brand New Life. While Quiet! was a mainly acoustic effort, and the tracks that were included have remained as such, there's nothing quite like a full band in a ballad.

Stefan Wolf's easily distinguished sound remains the same. His music is upbeat Folk Pop, his voice tinged with melancholy, and not like any other voice so it's instantly recognisable. There's a easy-listening, relaxed, old country sound and style to Stefan Wolf's music, which is perhaps a by-product of living on the coast.

Everything else I wrote about Quiet! remains true. Except the self-depreciative humour. This release takes a less tongue in cheek, more serious approach from the press release to the beautifully photographed cover, and for that Brand New Life feels much more mature.

Hopefully now that Stefan Wolf has released his ballad collection we will see a collection of Stefan Wolf style rock songs one day soon.

Brand New Life is available from iTunes and Spotify, or physically from Slowboat Records in Wellington. When Stefan Wolf isn't making music he's making music videos for his songs. If you're a fan of the music, or you're someone who needs the visual to fully appreciate the aural you should check out the videos on the Stefan Wolf Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/user/stefantehoro/videos).

 

About Stefan Wolf

The son of a pianist father and choir-singing mother, Stefan Wolf is on a wayward trip to pop music nirvana. An early single for Flying Nun (1987's I Could Hit The Ceiling by Stiff Herbert) was followed by the London-influenced Songs From The Basin Reserve in 1992. Sailor (‘Independent release of the year - Galway’) followed in 1999. Wolf then produced a trilogy of EPs charting incisive life events, culminating in Quiet! Can't You See I'm Dying In Here?, released in June 2012. A number of his ballads were remastered for 2015’s Brandnew Life, which also contained a clutch of new songs including ‘AIMA Best Pacific Video 2014’ winner On Your Side. Wolf has two daughters and lives in Paekakariki, New Zealand.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stefan Wolf

Releases

Creep No. 1
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem