17 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stefan Wolf - Album Review: Brand New Life

06 Sep 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Brand New Life is a collection of Stefan Wolf's ballads written between 2008 and 2014. 

As well as new tracks, the album, Stefan Wolf's first Long Play since 1999's Sailor, includes selected tracks from the trilogy of EPs, 2009's How Much Do I Get For A Fiver?, 2011's Der Klischee, and Quiet! Can't You See I'm Dying Here? which I had the pleasure of reviewing for muzic.net.nz back in 2012 (http://www.muzic.net.nz/articles/reviews/47048/unknown-quiet-cant-you-see-im-dying-here-ep-review).

While I enjoyed the home recorded aesthetic of Wolf's previous releases, I must say the songs sound a lot better in their remastered form.  The new mix brings Wolf's unique voice, one of the draw points of his music, to the fore. As a whole, it's a very professional mastering job all round and makes for a cohesive listening experience, as opposed to a jumpy copy & paste collection of greatest hits. 

As well as a professional gloss, it's good to see the full band treatment brought out for Brand New Life. While Quiet! was a mainly acoustic effort, and the tracks that were included have remained as such, there's nothing quite like a full band in a ballad.

Stefan Wolf's easily distinguished sound remains the same. His music is upbeat Folk Pop, his voice tinged with melancholy, and not like any other voice so it's instantly recognisable. There's a easy-listening, relaxed, old country sound and style to Stefan Wolf's music, which is perhaps a by-product of living on the coast.

Everything else I wrote about Quiet! remains true. Except the self-depreciative humour. This release takes a less tongue in cheek, more serious approach from the press release to the beautifully photographed cover, and for that Brand New Life feels much more mature.

Hopefully now that Stefan Wolf has released his ballad collection we will see a collection of Stefan Wolf style rock songs one day soon.

Brand New Life is available from iTunes and Spotify, or physically from Slowboat Records in Wellington. When Stefan Wolf isn't making music he's making music videos for his songs. If you're a fan of the music, or you're someone who needs the visual to fully appreciate the aural you should check out the videos on the Stefan Wolf Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/user/stefantehoro/videos).

 

About Stefan Wolf

The son of a pianist father and choir-singing mother, Stefan Wolf is on a wayward trip to pop music nirvana. An early single for Flying Nun (1987's I Could Hit The Ceiling by Stiff Herbert) was followed by the London-influenced Songs From The Basin Reserve in 1992. Sailor (‘Independent release of the year - Galway’) followed in 1999. Wolf then produced a trilogy of EPs charting incisive life events, culminating in Quiet! Can't You See I'm Dying In Here?, released in June 2012. A number of his ballads were remastered for 2015’s Brandnew Life, which also contained a clutch of new songs including ‘AIMA Best Pacific Video 2014’ winner On Your Side. Wolf has two daughters and lives in Paekakariki, New Zealand.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stefan Wolf

Releases

Creep No. 1
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem