22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Die! Die! Die! - Die! Die! Die! @ Willy's Place, Tauranga - 17/08/14

18 Aug 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood

Article Joel Thompson

Originally this gig was booked at Major Toms at the Mount and then a couple of days prior to the show the gig was rebooked for a venue in Pyes Pa. At first glance I didn't think much of this but it was a defining factor in what was to become a very unusual gig. 

On closer inspection it turned out that the gig was to be held at a private residence about half an hour out of Tauranga at a guy called Willy's place. I turned up just after 7pm expecting the gig to be in a barn or renovated country hall but it was held in a single garage and it felt more like a private show for friends and family than an official tour date. Considering it was a Sunday night and a good half hour drive out of Tauranga the show was well attended with twenty five or so people. The audience was a mixed bag of old school punks, hipsters and rock kids.

It was definitely not what I was expecting but it was refreshing to see such a highly regarded and reputable band play in such an intimate setting. I mean we are talking about a band that has toured the world, played alongside Franz Ferdinand and Wolfmother and recorded a record with Steve Albini and they are jamming in some guys garage in the middle of nowhere on a Sunday night. I think this just goes to show the integrity of these guys and how down to earth they are. 

Die! Die! Die! kicked into 5th gear straight off the bat with Andrew Wilson lurching himself around the stage and then promptly jumping right into the thick of the audience. He coaxed the audience physically to the front of the stage by dragging people forward. Andrew sang with conviction and passion while bashing out his chordal arrangements out on his guitar. Michael Logie was a machine on the bass and had me locked in with his hypnotic repetitive grooves from the first note he played. Michael Prain destroyed his drums, pummeling the shit out of them. All in all the band was extremely tight, enthusiastic and ripped through their set with mechanical precision. 

I am yet to hear the bands new record SWIM, but I do wait with baited breath to get my hands on a copy. From what I have heard so far, the band are progressively moving towards a unique post punk noise pop sound that is edgy yet palatable, violent but lush and this excites me a lot.

Die! Die! Die! have a bunch more shows coming up on in NZ, then are taking a quick lap of Australia so if you want to hear what the new face of NZ punk sounds like then this is the ticket.

 

About Die! Die! Die!

Die! Die! Die! is a three-piece band from Auckland that was formed out of the ashes of Xanadu, Carriage H and Rawer. They play songs that are abrasive and catchy, fast and loud and like people who dance at their shows.

In the year since their first show together they played over 100 shows including three tours (each) of New Zealand and Australia, and one small one of USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Die! Die! Die!

Releases

O
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Charm.Offensive
Year: 2017
Type: Album
What Did You Expect?
Year: 2015
Type: EP
SWIM
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Harmony (Special Edition)
Year: 2013
Type: Unknown
Harmony
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Form
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Promises Promises
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Locust Weeks
Year: 2006
Type: EP
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats.
Read More...
Unknown - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem