19 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - No Apostrophe Album Review

20 Jul 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

No, there is no grammatical error. As the title of Curlys Jewels first full length album explains, there is no apostrophe, something I must admit, which makes my English degree writhe in its dusty picture frame. But like "Hanah with one N" will attest, if your name doesn't fit the societal norm, you'll spend the rest of your life explaining "it just ain't meant to be there."

No Apostrophe is a back and forward dance between swaying melodic rock with tinge of cowboy blues, and something a lot darker and heavier. It's a sound Fans of Stone Temple Pilots and all good 90s rock will appreciate.

Singer Janelle Pollock's dynamic voice brings some, dare I say, soft, beautiful moments to the album, but she isn't afraid to belt it either, which is a good thing because the band know how and when to bring the hard and heavy. Being a fan of the heavier, I find that these parts are where the band really shine. 

The album features the bands single Away For The Weekend, which has been receiving radio play both locally and internationally. I can see it as a crowd favourite sing-along track, if played in front of the right audience.

Also featured is a reworking of All These Signs from their debut, the Fling Flang Flonge EP. Beneath the gloss of a professional mastering job, the rearrangement of this song shows how much the band's sound has developed in the past couple of years.

No Apostrophe is available for purchase or stream from the Curlys Jewels Bandcamp (http://curlysjewels.bandcamp.com/album/curlys-jewels). You can also check out this live performance on Youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joTkANCs0sc).  It's a couple of years old now, but it still gives a feel of who the band are when they're in their element.

No Apostrophe
View Track Listing
 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem