25 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Like A Storm - Nothing Remains Single Review

07 Jul 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman
Dirty heavy guitar riffs, angry dirty driving drums, gravelly scathing vocals, haunting samples, this all adds to the amazing new single from Kiwi rockers Like A Storm who are now based between Vancouver and Los Angeles, California. I remember way back in the day when two schoolboy bands Fluid and Inertia joined forces and announced that they were calling themselves Like A Storm because that's how they sounded. Well that's not too far from the truth. Their latest rock single Nothing Remains is a heavy borderline brutal single that is internationally one of the highest level singles that I have had the pleasure of listening to.

I wouldn't dare compare their sound to any other band for fear that their riffs would tear strips off me, but if I was going give readers an idea of what category Like A Storm's brand new single falls into, I would suggest they had a listen to the likes of Breaking Benjamin, or maybe Halestorm, or possibly a bit of Sevendust to give you an idea of the guitarwork that is laid down beneath a melodic yet aggressive vocal line that sets them apart from their heavy metal counterparts. You can really see the progression from their previous singles Chemical Infatuation and Love The Way You Hate Me with the boys really laying down those absolutely MASSIVE guitars, but the haunting samples and vocals grab you and pull you under each and every time.

Do yourself a favour, and if you haven't got this on your iTunes, make sure you get it - I promise you that once you have heard it, you'll be wanting to grab all of their previous singles also. Keep an eye out for these guys. They ARE the next big thing without a doubt.
 

About Like A Storm

With their record-breaking new single, Love the Way You Hate Me, smashing its way onto American airwaves, Kiwi hard rock act Like A Storm have now achieved more successful US Hard Rock singles than any other New Zealand band in history. Hard rock anthem Love the Way You Hate Me, which features singer Chris Brooks playing the didgeridoo, has made an impact with rock fans all over North America - hitting #1 on satellite giant SiriusXM Octane.

Since their debut album, The End of the Beginning, in 2009, Like A Storm have created a compelling musical catalogue and earned the reputation as one of rock's hardest working bands. Five years of relentless touring has seen them share American stages with rock giants Creed, Korn, Alter Bridge, Five Finger Death Punch, Shinedown and many others. As a result, the band of Kiwi brothers has developed one of the most loyal fan bases in the country, and are now a headline act in their own right. Like A Storm's diehard fans - many of whom are inked in the band's artwork and lyrics - are widely known to travel huge distances, and show up hours early, to see the band play at some of the most iconic rock venues in the US.

Originally formed a world away in Auckland, New Zealand, Like A Storm was born when musician brothers Chris, Kent and Matt Brooks first jammed together. Growing up playing in separate bands, the combined chemistry was apparent in an instant. "We just felt this amazing musical connection," remembers guitarist Matt Brooks, "We knew that we had to start a band together."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Like A Storm

Releases

Catacombs
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Awaken The Fire
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Chaos Theory: Part 1
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
Bic Runga - Album Review: Close Your Eyes
05 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
There isn’t many people in New Zealand that have had have stood out as solo artists with such finesse or success as our very own Bic Runga. After many years of waiting and reminiscing about her earlier singles such as Sway and Good Morning Baby from her massively successful debut album Drive Bic has finally delivered an exceptional new album on the year of her 40th birthday titled Close Your Eyes.
Read More...
Dark Water - Album Review: You're Only As Addicted As You're Willing To Be
21 Nov 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Only a few days ago, my band Poison Skies shared a stage in New Plymouth with a band that I have never heard of before called Dark Water. The next night, I heard that they have a brand new album out titled You’re Only As Addicted As You’re Willing To Be so I promptly stuck up my hand and asked if I could be the guy to write a review it.
Read More...
Gig Review: 28th Annual Gemini Party @ Altitude, Hamilton - 5/06/16
28 Jun 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Like many Aucklander's looking to get ahead in life, I made the move down to Hamilton approx. 1 year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem