5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Junelle - Just This Sky EP Review

27 Jun 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman
Junelle recently celebrated her new EP titled Just This Sky. Off to a bit of a rough start the first CD I put in didn't have anything recorded. I thought to myself, is this it? Is this quirky? If this is her way of releasing an EP to get an attention, artistically its absolutely brilliant! However on closer inspection, she had actually released some beautiful music. The second CD I received was an ACTUAL copy of her brand spanking new EP, and this is something to be massively proud of.

This is another style that I don't listen to every day, so I find it hard to string together the words to describe it. I guess the closest thing I can describe it to is probably 'Massive Attack' but yet it is so completely different, that its not even fair to put them in the same category. Her voice is so soulful and smooth, it almost comes across as a lullaby with undertones of melodic synths, and fabricated beats. Some of it is quite dissonant and moody, but at the same time very beautiful. It's absolutely packed with emotion and vocal talent that anyone would be envious.

I Particularly loved the first track titled I've Been Waiting because her sultry voice reminds me of something like Jessica Rabbit singing in a night club to a bunch of 1960's dressed patrons swooning over her. This EP is well recorded, the quality is really good - it has great instrument/vocal balance and is really something that really calms the soul. I highly recommend having a listen to Junelle's EP Just This Sky.
 

About Junelle

New Zealand songbird Junelle is no stranger to live performance, having spent more than a decade gigging with some of the country's finest jazz artists. She now takes us on a more intimate journey with her first collection of original tracks - recorded and produced by Abraham Kunin, who captures and magnifies the essence of the songs with precision and beauty. I've Been Waiting is the first track from this long awaited release.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Junelle

Releases

Just This Sky
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem