8 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ghetto Sunrise - Ghetto Sunrise Album Review

15 Jun 2014 // A review by Chris Chick

I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear. Since then they have just released their first full self-titled album Ghetto Sunrise which brings a new twist to their sound in the shape of hard hitting, in your face cross of drum n bass and dubstep.

I have to confess these genres are not a favourite of mine; I would compare them to a peaceful beautiful walk along the promenade only to be interrupted by a group of football supporters singing songs about Manchester United. Join me as we go for a ride through the tapestry of a brain that loves the people, but struggles with the work.

Firstly, these guys have obvious talent in what they do, taking a complete turn in direction is not easy, but they have achieved a sound that people will enjoy no doubt. The album flowed very coherently with a good mix of different sounds within each song. It's very easy to get caught into one sound that might work, considering the limits of such genres as dubstep, this is quite a diverse album.

I like the use of a female vocalist (Emma Petera) in Lost and Trouble The Water, the calming effect really compliments the heavy hitting beats, and steadies the flow of the songs respectively. I am a sucker for build ups, and this group really do a sterling job on slowing down the pace of a song, and then bringing it back up to a formidable arousal. 

My one major critique is based around the production and sound. In some songs there is just too much going on. A friend of mine agreed that the mixture of heavy guitar and drum n bass really hurt the sound and thus he soon wanted to stop listening. If you are a fan of hard hitting music and the sub genres I would always recommend supporting New Zealand bands.  If you enjoy peaceful quiet moments with the wife, this is definitely not the one for you.

Ghetto Sunrise
View Track Listing
 

About Ghetto Sunrise

Ghetto Sunrise hail from the city streets of Auckland and play a bombastic fusion of reggae, ska, dubstep and electronica. Ghetto Sunrise are on the cusp of releasing their debut record "One Drop Love". The EP was mastered by Mike Gibson, responsible for the many NZ urban albums including classic reggae records by The Black Seeds, Rhombus through to the killer grooves of the Native Sons. Ghetto Sunrise have been compared to everyone from Sublime and Katchafire but feature heavy bass driven electronic sections reminiscent of early Salmonella Dub mashed together with the latest Dubstep from the UK. Ghetto Sunrise are currently booking their first tour and are set to mash, smash and crash sound systems across the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ghetto Sunrise

Releases

Ghetto Sunrise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
One Drop Love
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem