16 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Great North - Great North @ Victoria Theatre, Auckland 9/05/2014

25 May 2014 // A review by Ria Loveder

If you have read my previous review for Great North you would know that I absolutely adored their album Up In Smoke. So as you can imagine I was thoroughly looking forward to Friday the 9th of May when I would be able to hear all the wonderful songs played live. I was not disappointed.

Firstly a mention about the venue. The Victoria Theatre was a wonderful little place and was very much done up in an Art Deco style. I am so glad Great North chose to perform their, a wonderful setting.  

Eb and Sparrow opened the show up and even though she did not have her fellow musicians to accompany her, Ebony did a fantastic job. She set the crowd at ease with her witty personality and quirky stories.

As I hoped Great North performed incredible music. It was clear to see that the group performing were a dedicated group of musicians that have put their heart and soul into this group.

What I really loved was that we were given a brief insight into what inspired the music and the stories behind the creation of them. For example, the song Casey Jones was dedicated to the railway roader himself due to him saving many lives, however ultimately losing his own life. Being given details such as this made me feel so much more connected to the music and listening intently to the lyrics.

A song that definitely pulled on my heart strings was that of The Sound Of The Sea, an absolute beautiful song to hear on CD, even more captivating and heart felt listened to live.  

My only critique was that some on the band members could have shown a bit more stage presence and charisma in their performance.

To finish I believe I should mention that any band that can incorporate the Theremin into almost every song and then play an electric guitar with a bow should be congratulated! Great North’s Up In Smoke Auckland performance was an absolute delight and if anyone wanted to know how much I liked it, I bought another one of their albums and a T-shirt. So, I liked it a lot.

 

About Great North

An alternative folk/country band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Great North

Releases

The Golden Age
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Up In Smoke
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Halves
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Newfoundland
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Soldiers
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem