18 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Phoenix Foundation - Tom's Lunch EP Review

25 May 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

Following on from the fantastic album Fandango I had the pleasure of reviewing The Phoenix Foundation's amazing gig in Wellington last year. I then met the gracious bearded wonders at the Vodafone music awards towards the end of 2013.

Where could they possibly go to after a year like that. Well here it Tom’s Lunch, they didn’t hang around to create this brand new 5 track EP.

The first indie sounding track Bob Lennon John Dylan is very upbeat, catchy and sounds different from the previous songs. Recorded in Wellington, NZ the track sounds rough and ready, almost dirty, and I like it a lot.

Fiscal Pickle is track 2 and again the song is noisy and metallic sounding and for some reason reminds me of Stone Roses. At 2:42 it’s the shortest track on the EP.

It’s certainly a new direction and I’m not sure if it will be to everyone’s taste, however personally I love it.

Track 3 Real Pig follows in similar good fashion to Fiscal Pickle, however Track 4 Asswipe sounds like a fill-in track, and to be honest, it’s pretty dull.

The final track Race Day is an 8 minute 9 second journey which, doesn’t quite do itself justice, and seems to fizzle out towards the end.

Even if it’s only for the first 3 songs I recommend purchasing the EP (https://itunes.apple.com/nz/album/toms-lunch-ep/id860201597). I look forward to their new album, good work guys.

 

About The Phoenix Foundation

"Surely the most potent band to come out of New Zealand since the far-off days of the Chills… Gorgeous" ***** 5 Stars - The Independent Newspaper, UK (27/11/09)

"This record is like the beautiful feeling of falling asleep in a hammock out the back of a faded old beach house and dreaming of epic vistas and love affairs… a beautiful record indeed." - Neil Finn – Crowded House/Split Enz

"It swerves gently from kooky guitar sing-alongs to languid psychedelia, it pauses for effect on elegant sad-eyed piano ballads and cinematic synthesizer swirls, it locks itself in its bedroom for a sulk but then it's skipping happily around the backyard just as the sun comes out. Sometimes that's all in the course of one track …" 5 stars

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Phoenix Foundation

Releases

Give Up Your Dreams
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Tom's Lunch
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Fandango
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buffalo
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Merry Kriskmass
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Happy Ending
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Pegasus
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Horsepower
Year: 2003
Type: LP
China Cove
Year: 2001
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by Tony McDonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • VIBES
    Six60
  • BODY
    Loud Luxury feat. brando
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem