20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Phoenix Foundation - Tom's Lunch EP Review

25 May 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

Following on from the fantastic album Fandango I had the pleasure of reviewing The Phoenix Foundation's amazing gig in Wellington last year. I then met the gracious bearded wonders at the Vodafone music awards towards the end of 2013.

Where could they possibly go to after a year like that. Well here it Tom’s Lunch, they didn’t hang around to create this brand new 5 track EP.

The first indie sounding track Bob Lennon John Dylan is very upbeat, catchy and sounds different from the previous songs. Recorded in Wellington, NZ the track sounds rough and ready, almost dirty, and I like it a lot.

Fiscal Pickle is track 2 and again the song is noisy and metallic sounding and for some reason reminds me of Stone Roses. At 2:42 it’s the shortest track on the EP.

It’s certainly a new direction and I’m not sure if it will be to everyone’s taste, however personally I love it.

Track 3 Real Pig follows in similar good fashion to Fiscal Pickle, however Track 4 Asswipe sounds like a fill-in track, and to be honest, it’s pretty dull.

The final track Race Day is an 8 minute 9 second journey which, doesn’t quite do itself justice, and seems to fizzle out towards the end.

Even if it’s only for the first 3 songs I recommend purchasing the EP (https://itunes.apple.com/nz/album/toms-lunch-ep/id860201597). I look forward to their new album, good work guys.

 

About The Phoenix Foundation

"Surely the most potent band to come out of New Zealand since the far-off days of the Chills… Gorgeous" ***** 5 Stars - The Independent Newspaper, UK (27/11/09)

"This record is like the beautiful feeling of falling asleep in a hammock out the back of a faded old beach house and dreaming of epic vistas and love affairs… a beautiful record indeed." - Neil Finn – Crowded House/Split Enz

"It swerves gently from kooky guitar sing-alongs to languid psychedelia, it pauses for effect on elegant sad-eyed piano ballads and cinematic synthesizer swirls, it locks itself in its bedroom for a sulk but then it's skipping happily around the backyard just as the sun comes out. Sometimes that's all in the course of one track …" 5 stars

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Phoenix Foundation

Releases

Give Up Your Dreams
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Tom's Lunch
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Fandango
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Buffalo
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Merry Kriskmass
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Happy Ending
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Pegasus
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Horsepower
Year: 2003
Type: LP
China Cove
Year: 2001
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem