8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Liam Finn - The Nihilist Album Review

12 May 2014 // A review by mciver29

I've had long standing respect for Liam Finn ever since seeing Betchadupa play at Trafalgar Park on New Years in Nelson when I was 16, and although I'm aware of Liam's growing back catologue, I haven't followed his recent music very much.
You will see, no doubt, that I have been quickly taken with this album, as an album in the true sense.

Sure there are more main stream songs like track #4 Helen Bonham Carter, which has almost a Cars influence to it and track #3 Snug As Fuck which is a beautiful Beatles inspired ballad with an equally creative and rather amusing music video that you can find on Youtube, but I got the most pleasure from experiencing the album start to finish, which is something we don't often take the time out to do these days.

It's clear there is a really good sense of humour throughout the album; the vibe is uplifting and yet kind of skewed at the same time, with a very strong psychedelic influence with use of lots of delay, reverbs, fuzz and various instrument overdubs which come most into effect while wearing head phones :)

Liam has become incredibly good at crafting really interesting songs that you really want to listen to and almost explore multiple times to take it all in.

I sat with my head phones on and listened to 12 incredibly good tracks from start to finish and I can honestly say I don't regret one second of it, in fact, it's really refreshing!

Liam is joined on The Nihilist by a familiar face to Finn fans, Eliza-Jane Barnes (daughter to Jimmy Barnes and of kids band The Tin Lids), Eliza and Liam's voices fit together perfectly, the vocal arrangements are beautifully thought out and executed, there are some really pretty moments between them on more than one occasion.

Though I often think of Liam Finn as an acoustic based musician. This is not an acoustic singer/song writer album as I expected for some reason, something genuinely creative has been achieved with The Nihilist and Liam is rightfully emerging as a great New Zealand song writer and musician, hats off to you!

The Nihilist
View Track Listing
 

About Liam Finn

Since relocating from Australia to London with his band Betchadupa in 2005, Liam Finn has been very busy indeed.

Liam spent two months at the beginning of 2007 in a central Auckland studio, Roundhead, playing, recording, engineering and producing his own album I'll Be Lightning.

This was followed up by his 2009 EP Champagne In Seashells, and 2 further albums - Fomo in 2011 and The Nihilist in 2014.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Liam Finn

Releases

The Nihilist
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Fomo
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Champagne In Seashells
Year: 2009
Type: EP
I'll Be Lightning
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem