31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Smashproof - Survivors Feat. Pieter T Single Review

06 May 2014 // A review by Kate Taylor

An uplifting tune that I'm sure is going to bring relief to not just a lot of kids; but also adults through the sentiments of Smashproof's new single Survivors which tackles issues of bullying, youth suicide and abuse, head on. It's a beautifully crafted piece of kiwi Hip Hop with a delicious hook sung sweetly by RnB artist Pieter T, sandwiched between thoughtful and thought-provoking MC turns on the mic from each of the Smashproof boys. Like their runaway hit with Gin Wigmore, Brother; Survivors features a breath-takingly crafted music video shot again by Chris Graham, which features in stark black and white, real kiwi kids portraying the narrative of the song's two heroes: Jeremiah and Talia.

These real kiwi kids are actually students from Rosehill Intermediate School; where Smashproof member Tyree is a teacher’s aide – this gesture no only holds up a mirror to NZ's youth and shows them a little bit of their own backyard in a music video for once (a backyard that is sadly, far too effected by bullying and abuse than perhaps we'd like to advertise as a nation.); but it also shows a tender dedication on the part of this group to really effect sorely needed change in our society. 

Fans of the song and its message are encouraged at the close of the video to share their experiences via the hashtag #ImASurvivor in regards to the issues that the song raises; plus experiences can also be submitted on Tumblr on Live for Tomorrow. Thank goodness then that Smashproof have created a beautiful, meaningful and hopeful song; one that will have the ability to be played just about anywhere and therefore reach as many of the people that need it as possible, with the message: 'I'm ok, I'm ok/You won't get me today, today!'

 

About Smashproof

Forming like a Hip Hop Voltron, Smashproof comprise of the smooth Tyree, the street-smart Sid Diamond and the suave Deach. They have arisen from the rugged streets of South Auckland to conquer the Hip-Hop world.

Flanking listeners with critically acclaimed solo albums from Tyree (Now Or Never) and Sid Diamond (The Truth), as well as collaborative contributions to Juse's Global Casino (on the hit single Ride Till I Die) as well as Move The Crowd's Speed Of Sound mix CD series, and their initial Tales From The Southside mix CD hosted by Akon, and comprised of remixes Tyree completed for NYC based labels SRC and Ruff Ryders, Smashproof have created a catalogue of tracks to cater to all within the Hip-Hop spectrum, initiating a cult following from the streets to the penthouses.

The debut single from Smashproof, Brother broke the 23 year old record for the most consecutive weeks on the NZ singles chart at #1 by a New Zealand artist, going Double Platinum. The album, which is Gold in NZ, also boasts two other top 20 singles.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Smashproof

Releases

Forever
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Weekend
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kate Taylor

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Live at No.10 South Street EP Review
04 Nov 2014 // by Kate Taylor
"You better sink that drink then baby come and fill your cup"...and get tipsy drunk on Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes!
Read More...
Rachel Dawick - The Boundary Riders Album Review
25 Sep 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Wow! What an inspirational woman!
Read More...
Songs From The Inside Vol II Album Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
There’s more out there in the New Zealand media landscape than what’s on your news feed or your particular pay TV channels… Maori Television is an important part of our media landscape and their creation of musical collaboration documentary, Songs from the Inside is a beautiful time capsule of some our most talented and kind musical artists (Anika Moa, Don McGlashan & Laughton Kora to name three), giving life and freedom through musical expression to some of our nation’s incarcerated. A delicate content matter at the best of times; the equivalent of the ‘difficult second album’ is released in Songs from the Inside Vol II which the show’s director and producer Julian Arahanga was concerned would be an undertaking to “recapture the same heart, feeling as the first series”; yet he needn’t worry as it certainly has recapturing that same ol magic and built on it.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - IXL EP Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I've written it once and I'll write it again... the absolute best part of reviewing music is that every so often you're introduced to an artist that you truly love and value, not just as a creative musical entity but also as a contributor to the fabric of what our ‘little’ nation can achieve in an audial realm.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - No Tomorrow Single Review
08 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
As luck would have it, I've stumbled on the backyard of stunning model and recent nzblokes 'Babe of the Week' - Sophie Burnside. Sophie is absolutely stunning and a quick Google search reveals that Sophie is also a bright, intelligent and health conscious individual...
Read More...
Kimbra - Rock Steady/Wanna Be Startin' Something Single Review
05 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Oooh girl! This is the epitome of every getting dressed up, dolled up, laced up, heeled up 'get ready' session with your gal pals before a huge night out of being fierce and fabulous.
Read More...
Depths @ The Powerstation, Auckland 06/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I'm a long-time listener, yet first time viewer of the New Zealand heavy (very heavy) metal, death metal and hard-core band Depths and for me; what a worthy wait it was! I was fortunate to see one of NZ Metal's best and brightest in support to Suicide Silence and the absolutely stunning Down, as fronted by Phil Anselmo; formerly of some really rad metal band from the 90s and earlier, you might of heard of `em...
Read More...
Flip Grater - Pigalle Album Review
21 Mar 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Gifted Christchurch singer-songwriter Flip Grater brings her yearning, beautiful indie folk to our ears via the sultry Parisian musical base she currently calls home. Pigalle, Flip Grater’s fourth album, is aptly named after the Studio Pigalle Paris, in which these delicious 11 tracks has been recorded; in an area renowned for its artistic soul, creative residents such as Dali or Picasso and its Moulin Rouge adjacency.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kate Taylor

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem