5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sora Shima - You Are Surrounded Album Review

27 Apr 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

Sora Shima have recently dropped their brand new album You Are Surrounded and I stuck my hand up to review this album as it's not very often you get the opportunity to listen to a purely instrumental album. Still a touch jaded, and quite hungover after a big night out, I decided that with a very clear mind it was probably a good opportunity to listen to some of Sora Shima's music having not ever heard them before.

This album is a nice crafting of skilled musicianship, some carefully and precisely woven samples, and a lot of attitude. Bands seem to forget a lot these days that space is often more, and I love how Sora Shima have taken this and worked it into their music with feeling and with emotion. The melodies are not too complex, but complex enough to really honour some great songwriting. With subtle rhythms and also some of the tunes not utilising much drums if any makes it a really nice album to have either as background music or just to grab an ice cold beer and relax. The instrumental tones and the ways that the melodies overlay is absolutely beautiful.

This album truly gives a perception of every last bit of blood sweat and tears that Sora Shima have poured into this album. I am a rocker at heart, but this album is one I would have playing through my headphones as I zone out and cruise down the mountain on my snowboard. Definitely a recommended piece of listening for anybody who wants a touch of something different, but still so pure and emotion-filled to listen to. Check it out.

You Are Surrounded
View Track Listing
 

About Sora Shima

With a sensual sound once described by Under The Radar as "properly abstract, terrifyingly beautiful", Hamiltonian sonic rock architects SORA SHIMA have been quietly (or perhaps not so quietly) honing their instrumental craft since 2006. Through echo-woven melodies, celestial reverberations and earthly resonances, "dark and dreamy" Sora Shima are reknowned for their unique ability to lull audiences, blissfully unaware of the aural tidal wave about to strike at a moment's notice.

Without the confines of words, the music speaks for itself, or rather, the music IS the voice - a direct line to the imagination. Whatever colourful language you use to describe this unique four-piece, the only way to truly experience the awesomeness that is Sora Shima is to witness their stunning live set - a vivid experience you'll not soon forget.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sora Shima

Releases

You Are Surrounded
Year: 2014
Type: Album
LOVEYOU
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Destroy Electronica
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Distancing
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Spinetingler
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem