21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Jason McIver - The Crystal Pool Single Review

11 Apr 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I always wondered if I would have still liked John Frusciante’s solo work if I didn’t know he was from Red Hot Chili Peppers.  Short of a brain injury or amnesia, I’ll never truly know.

I can say that I am certain that I liked The Crystal Pool before the realisation that the Chino Moreno look-alike front man from Heathen Eyes and Jason McIver are the same person.

Jason McIver’s newest single The Crystal Pool, the first since 2007’s In Time, isn’t Heathen Eyes. They’re about as far from each other in style as Maynard James Keenan’s puscifer and the work of that other famous band he’s in (you pick which one I mean).

Where is the material I’ve heard from Heathen Eyes is 90’s tinged rock, Jason McIver’s solo release is upbeat and acoustic with rich layers and bright tones. As hooky as a post Powderfinger Bernard Fanning song and a sound Fanning fans may find familiar.

Unlike puscifer, Fanning and Frusciante, which people either love or hate depending on their level of diehard fandom, Jason McIver’s music won’t have the same polarising effect.  

The Crystal Pool is far too pop-worthy and catchy to hate. As a reviewer, as well as someone that naturally listens to songs on repeat, I can verify that after three hours over and over I can still take this song.

And though Heathen Eyes deserve to be a hell of a lot more famous, people won’t necessarily make the connection with Jason McIver when The Crystal Pool hits mainstream radio, which is where it deserves to be.

You can find Jason McIver’s The Crystal Pool single on his Soundcloud as well as selected works from Heathen Eyes and some of his earlier projects.

 

About Jason McIver

Jason is a singer song writer from Nelson but based in Auckland city, was also the frontman for the band Heathen Eyes and acoustic duo Mojo.

Jason has been performing and recording for the past 15 years in various bands and outfits all over NZ and has even popped over to Australia for a few gigs as well.

Jason studied Contemporary Music at Mainz for 2 years (2010/2011) winning Vocalist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year both years running and he is also a regular on the Auckland covers circuit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason McIver

Releases

I May No Perf
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Big Blue
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem