27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jason McIver Collective - The Crystal Pool Single Review

11 Apr 2014 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I always wondered if I would have still liked John Frusciante’s solo work if I didn’t know he was from Red Hot Chili Peppers.  Short of a brain injury or amnesia, I’ll never truly know.

I can say that I am certain that I liked The Crystal Pool before the realisation that the Chino Moreno look-alike front man from Heathen Eyes and Jason McIver are the same person.

Jason McIver’s newest single The Crystal Pool, the first since 2007’s In Time, isn’t Heathen Eyes. They’re about as far from each other in style as Maynard James Keenan’s puscifer and the work of that other famous band he’s in (you pick which one I mean).

Where is the material I’ve heard from Heathen Eyes is 90’s tinged rock, Jason McIver’s solo release is upbeat and acoustic with rich layers and bright tones. As hooky as a post Powderfinger Bernard Fanning song and a sound Fanning fans may find familiar.

Unlike puscifer, Fanning and Frusciante, which people either love or hate depending on their level of diehard fandom, Jason McIver’s music won’t have the same polarising effect.  

The Crystal Pool is far too pop-worthy and catchy to hate. As a reviewer, as well as someone that naturally listens to songs on repeat, I can verify that after three hours over and over I can still take this song.

And though Heathen Eyes deserve to be a hell of a lot more famous, people won’t necessarily make the connection with Jason McIver when The Crystal Pool hits mainstream radio, which is where it deserves to be.

You can find Jason McIver’s The Crystal Pool single on his Soundcloud as well as selected works from Heathen Eyes and some of his earlier projects.

 

About Jason McIver Collective

The Jason McIver Collective have released two highly praised and charting albums since 2015 and in 2019 that catalogue will continue to expand.

After moving bases from Auckland to Taupo Jason refreshed the line-up, featuring original bassist Si Folkard moving to lead guitar/vocals, bassist John Curtis and drummer Andrew Marshall.

The music explores the many emotions and movements occurring in life and celebrates a diverse scope of song writing.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason McIver Collective

Releases

I May No Perf
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Big Blue
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Treasury - EP Review: Shimmer / I'll Return From On The Sea
29 Oct 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I get a lot of pretty obscure releases thrown my way. For every Six60 single, there are fifty songs you will never hear, from artists you have never heard of.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem