16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stormporter - Stormporter EP Release Gig @ Nectar Bar, Auckland 22/03/14

05 Apr 2014 // A review by Ria Loveder

Before I start talking about Stormporter’s wonderful gig, I think I should give a round of applause to the venue in which it was held in. The Nectar Bar was a wonderful place to sit down and relax, with the building inside looking like a renovated barn. The stage area was well set up and not only was the building well presented, but the staff there were lovely also, with that said, may the review commence!

I hope I can speak for everyone when I say, that Ezra Vine, who opened up the gig, was brilliant and if some people disagree, then shame on them! His hit song Celeste was accepted with much enthusiasm, but it was his style of performing and engaging eye contact that was the most entrancing through-out his set list, creating a very intimate performance. I must say, he has a new fan. Up next was The Map Room which consisted of great musicians and they performed well, playing some great tunes and getting the crowd involved. All in all, a great beginning to the night by these artists.

Stormporter took to the stage radiating sophistication. Tim Allen and Tones Thorburn, the two frontmen of the band showed nothing but class, not only with their snazzy suits but also by the way they presented themselves on stage. The band as a unit worked very well together with Allen making sure everyone was ready and comfortable before each song commenced. Their set list was one that had you toe tapping and grooving away. Lead singer Allen was an absolutely captivating performer and sometimes I found myself not clapping at the end of a song due to the fact that I was so entranced by the way he put his entire being into the performance, not to mention his unique dancing that I found was a joy to watch! Allen had a brilliant voice and he and Thorburn have written songs that utilise his voice and range to the best of its abilities.

The only critique that I have it that the performance came to a sudden end with Allen leaving abruptly from the stage, leaving a few people puzzled. Apart from that, the gig was very enjoyable and I would not hesitate to see Stormporter live again.

 

About Stormporter

Stormporter is a fresh, new, song-writing collaboration between Tim Allen and Tones - two story-writing Brits. Tim, from England and, Tones, a Scot, came together to share their stories, make sweet music together and share fun times in their adopted country - New Zealand.

Stormporter tell stories through their music; stories about life. We all go through storms in our lives - sometimes exciting, often turbulent; sometimes, life-changing. Stormporter believe there will always be someone or something to carry you through the storm.

They hope you'll find something in their music that will move or touch you in some way and, become part of the soundtrack of your life. Perhaps, these songs will somehow help you through life's storms. Whatever you find in their music, one things for certain - Stormporter are sure to stir up a musical storm.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stormporter

Releases

There are no releases to display for Stormporter.

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem