16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lightning Bells - Lightning Bells EP Release Gig @ Juice Bar, Auckland - 21/03/14

02 Apr 2014 // A review by Ria Loveder

I think I can speak for all when I say that the Lightning Bells EP release gig at Juice Bar on the 21th March was nothing but a hoot and a half! Much enjoyment was had by all, artists and audience alike. The two opening bands were an absolute delight. Little Lapin brought some absolutely beautiful tunes to the stage, and I must congratulate her and the other two members of the group as it was a brilliant performance with it only being their first time together. Also, Troubled Frank bought much enthusiasm to the stage with members dancing around and getting the audience to participate. A high level set list if ever there was one!

After setting the stage up, it was Lightning Bells turn. Main singer Christy Whelan was full of life and used his energy to captivate the audience as he danced and encouraged the audience to do likewise. Occasionally in songs his sister Emily would accompany him singing and I must say the harmonises were wonderful. Christy and Emily’s vibrant voices came together very well making the lyrics and meaning carry. The trumpet, played by Luke Benson, created a vivacious and lively dynamic throughout. The set list overall was one where I observed people toe tapping and head bobbing. Their songs were ones that you found yourself starting to sing along to, not because of their repetitiveness, but because they made you feel happy. A great crowd pleaser was their cover of Buffalo Springfield’s song For What It’s Worth where by the end everyone was singing along and having a bit of a boogie!

The only criticism I have is that there were some members of the group that lacked enthusiasm, especially in comparison to Christy, but I think that is something each member can work and improve on. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the songs that were performed and I'm looking forward to also reviewing their EP Chimes in the next few days.
 

About Lightning Bells

Lightning Bells began in a dusty Auckland basement armed with the old family piano, a garage-sale guitar and a brother & sister with distinct voices. Growing up in the conflicted household of an opera-singing mother and Beatles-nut father - Christy and Emily Whelan were drawn to making music from an early age.

In 2011 they finally extended their musical family under the banner Lightning Bells and with the help of an eclectic group of friends they released some well-received demos, a rough ‘n’ ready limited release EP and put on a string of raucous live shows.

Their sound has since evolved and after countless hours working with friends and collaborators Lightning Bells released Chime in March 2014 - showcasing a crafted alt-pop sound and electric live band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lightning Bells

Releases

Chime
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ria Loveder

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Black Barn, Hawke's Bay - 22/12/2019
11 Jan 2020 // by Ria Loveder
The weather leading to Sunday 22nd of December was unreliably sprinkled with a little bit of unpredictability. Luckily for the people that flocked to the gorgeous Black Barn Amphitheatre in the Hawke’s Bay to the sold-out L.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Phone Face
06 Aug 2019 // by Ria Loveder
For lovers of blues, funk and everything else in between, you have found yourself in the right place. Created and grown into a sexy meld of soul and RnB in a basement in Auckland, Jessy & The Volunteers’ have debuted their song and video Phone Face.
Read More...
Annie J - Single Review: Whenever You Leave Me
31 Mar 2019 // by Ria Loveder
Annie J’s song Whenever You Leave Me is one that all teenagers can relate to; that relationship that you want to be in, but distance seems to come creeping in. The lyrics are mature beyond her years and at the young age of 15; she’s showing that she has the writing capabilities to produce mature, insightful music.
Read More...
Two Cartoons - Single Review: Less People (Less Traffic)
29 Oct 2018 // by Ria Loveder
Back in 2015 I reviewed Two Cartoons EP Lost Boys Club and raved about how they seem to so effortlessly create tunes that need to be sung loud and proud. Three years later, their latest single Less People (Less Traffic) is no exception.
Read More...
Nicole Andrews - Album Review: A Stranger
04 May 2018 // by Ria Loveder
In 2015 I reviewed Nicole Andrews’ album In The Shallows and raved about her rawness and connection with her music. Needless to say, her second album A Stranger has done it again.
Read More...
nomad - Album Review: Can You Feel It?
13 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
nomad soared into popularity with their catchy infectious pop tune Oh My My in 2016. After their song reached gold sales and they were nominated for Best Newcomers at the NZ Music Awards they are back with their debut album Can You Feel It?
Read More...
Ha the Unclear - Single Review: Wallace Line
08 Apr 2018 // by Ria Loveder
My music taste over the past year has changed a wee bit, and I am loving music that harks back to the 80's, and Ha the Unclear do just that. Their eccentric sound is filled with unconventional retro alt-pop music making them the perfect backing track to the New Zealand summer, pity we have just come into Autumn!
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Single Review: Out Of The Oddness
20 Feb 2018 // by Ria Loveder
An experimenter of music from a young age, Tom Lee-Richards' passion for songs and composition is evident in his array of work. His latest single Out Of The Oddness has dropped and it is one track I recommend you listen to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ria Loveder

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem