14 Nov 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Benny Tipene - Toulouse EP Review

18 Mar 2014 // A review by Kate Taylor

Ahh BENNAAY TIPEENNAAYYY! There’s something about his name that someone I know was never able to pronounce in any fashion other than in the ostentatious X Factor NZ announcer style.

Benny Tipene the media darling; Benny the scapegoat, Benny the bearer of unfair sleights on his talent and song writing skills; he’s all these things and yet none of these things and the best part of all is, one listen to his stunning EP Toulouse and you’ll be hooked! Look, if you’ve been anywhere near a screen over our passed Kiwi summer then you’ll be familiar with Make You Mine; it’s been inescapable as the soundtrack to a fizzy commercial for the yoof. So lest you fertilize your poppies to encourage tall, judgey-wudgey growth, do yourself a favour and skip on past to track two, Lonely and then on to enjoy another four deliciously delicate and introspective acoustic folky pop tracks, that are so inviting you’ll be singing them by the second chorus of each track; and that’s not cause they’re formulaic it’s because they are easy, comfortable and natural to slip into.

What you see is what you get with this album and I suspect with Benny himself; the
slick boy-bandesque styled promo shot has been replaced by an abstract-ish portrait painting, hailing out to you to become enamoured. If you’re still not convinced, for any fans of Dallas Green and his superb City and Colour releases out there…then Toulouse is right up your alley. Benny, if I may address the nation’s alternative-folk son so informally; has taken his time to create this little love letter of an EP and it smacks of the delay being due to his perfectionism and care to produce a solid, lasting debut effort; rather than a potentially perceived scramble to create content. Long may his reign of measured song writing contribute to our musical landscape for many years to come.

 

About Benny Tipene

Prior to becoming a household name in New Zealand, Benny Tipene spent his early years in Palmerston North and initially taught himself the piano in order to learn Let It Be as a tribute to his grandmother. After wanting to play in a band but being told by musicians that no-one played piano in a rock band, he learned guitar. The band then let him in, and they named themselves The Nerines.

Later, Benny ventured over to the UK and Europe on his Big OE, taking a guitar and teaching himself to write songs. Not long after returning home, the 23-year-old heard about The X Factor auditions and went along out of curiosity to see what it was all about – having never seen the show before.

But from that very first audition, Benny had New Zealand hooked – with this faux ‘50s look, skin-tight black jeans and that knee-weakening grin, not to mention his soulful folk voice and charismatic charm.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Benny Tipene

Releases

Toulouse
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bricks
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Tummy Demo Live
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Benny Tipene
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Room Demo Live 4
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kate Taylor

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Live at No.10 South Street EP Review
04 Nov 2014 // by Kate Taylor
"You better sink that drink then baby come and fill your cup"...and get tipsy drunk on Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes!
Read More...
Rachel Dawick - The Boundary Riders Album Review
25 Sep 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Wow! What an inspirational woman!
Read More...
Songs From The Inside Vol II Album Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
There’s more out there in the New Zealand media landscape than what’s on your news feed or your particular pay TV channels… Maori Television is an important part of our media landscape and their creation of musical collaboration documentary, Songs from the Inside is a beautiful time capsule of some our most talented and kind musical artists (Anika Moa, Don McGlashan & Laughton Kora to name three), giving life and freedom through musical expression to some of our nation’s incarcerated. A delicate content matter at the best of times; the equivalent of the ‘difficult second album’ is released in Songs from the Inside Vol II which the show’s director and producer Julian Arahanga was concerned would be an undertaking to “recapture the same heart, feeling as the first series”; yet he needn’t worry as it certainly has recapturing that same ol magic and built on it.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - IXL EP Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I've written it once and I'll write it again... the absolute best part of reviewing music is that every so often you're introduced to an artist that you truly love and value, not just as a creative musical entity but also as a contributor to the fabric of what our ‘little’ nation can achieve in an audial realm.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - No Tomorrow Single Review
08 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
As luck would have it, I've stumbled on the backyard of stunning model and recent nzblokes 'Babe of the Week' - Sophie Burnside. Sophie is absolutely stunning and a quick Google search reveals that Sophie is also a bright, intelligent and health conscious individual...
Read More...
Smashproof - Survivors Feat. Pieter T Single Review
06 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
An uplifting tune that I'm sure is going to bring relief to not just a lot of kids; but also adults through the sentiments of Smashproof's new single Survivors which tackles issues of bullying, youth suicide and abuse, head on. It's a beautifully crafted piece of kiwi Hip Hop with a delicious hook sung sweetly by RnB artist Pieter T, sandwiched between thoughtful and thought-provoking MC turns on the mic from each of the Smashproof boys.
Read More...
Kimbra - Rock Steady/Wanna Be Startin' Something Single Review
05 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Oooh girl! This is the epitome of every getting dressed up, dolled up, laced up, heeled up 'get ready' session with your gal pals before a huge night out of being fierce and fabulous.
Read More...
Depths @ The Powerstation, Auckland 06/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I'm a long-time listener, yet first time viewer of the New Zealand heavy (very heavy) metal, death metal and hard-core band Depths and for me; what a worthy wait it was! I was fortunate to see one of NZ Metal's best and brightest in support to Suicide Silence and the absolutely stunning Down, as fronted by Phil Anselmo; formerly of some really rad metal band from the 90s and earlier, you might of heard of `em...
Read More...
View All Articles By Kate Taylor

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem