24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

I Am Giant - I Am Giant @ Kings Arms, Auckland 31/01/14

12 Mar 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

Two long serving Kiwi rock icons, one of NZ’s best session guitarists, and one of the most unmistakable voices in the English rock scene that you could compile together onto one stage at any one time – this is I Am Giant.

With a string of amazing rock numbers such as Purple Heart, Neon Sunrise and their latest single Razor Wire Reality how could I deny the opportunity to see I Am Giant play live at the Kings Arms with support from two of my other favourite bands, Flirting With Disaster and Fire At Will.

I made sure I got to the gig early, and even an hour before the gig there was already a line of people waiting for the doors to open – so I took my place in line and waited. After showing my ticket and observing some of the awesome merch they had on display, grabbed an ice cold beer, caught up with a few of the support crew and some friends, and made sure I had the best spot in the room to listen.

The Kings Arms quickly packed out. Just when I thought that another body wouldn’t fit, a string of 5 people came through the door and somehow managed to sneak through sweaty bodies to find somewhere to stand.  I don’t recall another gig having numbers like this at the Kings Arms.

I was eager to hear Flirting With Disaster, as I had heard recorded demo’s, and their frontman Chaz Valentine (ex singer from The Rabble) is definitely a showman. They put on an absolute bulletproof set – amazing energy, great notes, and seemed extremely humble to be opening for I Am Giant. They also threw in one of my favourite covers Bullion by Swedish punk rockers Millencolin.

With quite a lot of recent radio play, Fire At Will again put on a great show. I have seen these guys a few times in the last 6 months, and they are definitely a band to keep an eye on as their live set is every part as good as their recordings.

Finally Shelton Woolright hit the stage laying down his thick drum beats, followed by massive phat bass grooves which are unique to only one bass player I have ever heard – Paul Matthews. Andrew Kerr (Fish) complimenting the band perfectly with tight guitar licks and equal energy, only topped by the energy of frontman Ed Martin on stage.

I’ve been to literally hundreds if not thousands of gigs in the last 15 years of both other bands and my own bands, but I Am Giant did something completely unique and exclusive to me dragging as many of their fans up onto stage with them as they could fit to join in while they played the last few songs. It looked amazing from front of house. A few minor hiccups with sound due to someone stumbling over a bass lead, but that didn’t detract from the awesomeness of the show.

Quite honestly, the bar has been set extremely high for any other bands to try and top this year. I can’t wait for the next single to hit early this year.

 

About I Am Giant

With an impressive 70,000+ loyal fans on Facebook and over 1,000 international members of their ‘IAG Army’, I Am Giant have amassed a huge worldwide following with four #1 rock singles and a certified gold album in New Zealand, music videos featuring skate and surfing icons Tony Hawk and Kelly Slater, opening for Slash in Australia, a UK tour with Taking Back Sunday, performances at Big Day Out in Auckland and Sydney, opening for Stone Temple Pilots in Singapore, touring throughout Asia several times, and playing the prestigious Viper Room and Mercury Lounge in the US.

Their debut album The Horrifying Truth, was recorded with acclaimed producer Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Dead Letter Circus, The Butterfly Effect). I Am Giant bound together what they describe as “a collection of stories, thoughts, observations and exploration” into a cohesive and hard-hitting explosion of sound and melody. From the first song Purple Heart to closer After The War, the sharp lyrical themes draw the listener into the band’s growing awareness of mortality and loss of innocence. The Horrifying Truth is pure, unadulterated rock, with its heart on its sleeve and an unquenchable fire in its soul.

October 2012 saw I Am Giant release The Horrifying Truth in the UK and Europe, where their single Purple Heart won support on BBC Radio One as Zane Lowe's ‘Next Hype’ , XFM, Kerrang! Radio and Q Radio as well as hitting the No 1 spot on Polish Radio Eska Rock.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for I Am Giant

Releases

Life In Captivity
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Science & Survival
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Horrifying Truth
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
City Limits/Neon Sunrise
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem