22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mamuku - Twigs of Gold Album Review

18 Feb 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

Twigs of Gold is a very quirky album with an array of brass, bass (deep man), reggae, jazz and space invader type sounds thrown in.

The album kicks off with a song called Berlin, which sounds very much like a Kiwi styled James Bond movie theme song. Don't let that put you off, it's a good thing.

The tempo changes occur when you least expect them which is a welcome change, and a mixture of rapping and beautiful singing ensures your attention doesn't waiver.

The Mamaku Project certainly aren't as heavy as bands such as The Black Seeds, however there are similarities of course with the semi-dub genre.

The harmonies in Angel in Gumboots are perfect and the lyrics are awesome. In fact overall the production / mix is brilliant and a credit to the entire team.

However I would have liked to have heard a little more kick ass in certain songs; Rain for example. It just feels like it wants to explode but never does. Just my preference of direction I wanted the songs to go I suppose.

The mix of cultures and languages is brilliant and Taonga is one of my favourite examples of this on the album. Very upbeat, offbeat and has a happy feel.

Highly recommended for fans of the genre.

Twigs Of Gold
View Track Listing
 

About Mamuku

Mamaku is born from the meeting of two French-New Zealander artists in 2004 at the Errobiko Festival in the Basque Country (France). Tui Mamaki, evocative multi-lingual voice, calls on Monsieur E., Parisian musician and NZ expat. This experience starts a desire, sketches and a sound aesthetic…

In 2006, they co-produce their first LP Karekare which received critical acclaim and sales of +3000 in NZ. A concoction weaving French quirkiness, GypsyPacifica and scents of fine ElectroOriental-Jazz. Created in the breathtaking wilderness of West-coast Aotearoa, this one-of-a-kind poetry rides infectious earthy grooves with a sprinkling of circus…

2010 saw further touring in NZ and abroad, including, Gwangju World Music Festival (Korea) and Europe (France, Switzerland, Germany, Holland and Belgium).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mamuku

Releases

Twigs Of Gold
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Mal de Terre
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Karekare
Year: 2007
Type: Album
The Mamaku Project EP
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem