21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Eclipse - Pink Floyd Tribute Band @ Stonehenge 01/02/2014

16 Feb 2014 // A review by Asmith

Let me just start of by stating there are simply not enough words in the english language to adequately describe how amazing this show was, but I will do my best.

We pulled into the parking area to be guided with precision into our space, then jumped in in the que with the other 2500 people who had come to this event and made our way in surprisingly fast.
I made a quick scan noticing the place was already filling up, lawn chairs and picnic blankets spread across the paddock, vendors lining the back wall for those who hadn't brought dinner with them.
Making my way to the front past the sound stage I soon realised the epic proportions with which this show was being produced... a mass of lighting rigs made it look like a technofile's wet dream, not to mention the live camera's linked directly into the big screen (I tried to spot them all during the show to no avail), and let's not forget the giant inflatable pink pig, no really, they had a giant inflatable pink pig.
Before the show kicked off I found myself sitting down with the Fou family who generously shared their dinner with me, and I will admit it's not often I get to sit down with a band members family for dinner before the show so I guess that required a special mention, thanks guys!
The sun was still out when the band began to play and picked myself out a nice little spot up the front to relax and let the Floyd take me away, which worked fine for maybe the first half hour, but the pull of the music was too strong and front of stage quickly filled up with fans dancing away to their favourite Pink Floyd tunes, played immaculately by every member of Eclipse.
I found myself blown away at the skill level of the band, everything from guitar tones to vocal melodies/harmonies were spot on, and when putting every piece of the Pink Floyd sound together at once there is only one way you nail it like that- bucketloads of hard work and twice as much talent.
It wasn't until the sun went down that the show really began though, the lighting rig came alive like I have never seen before. Seriously, this was the most complicated, intense, bizzare and wonderful lighting show I have ever seen, and with the exception of those in the crowd who have seen the real Pink Floyd or Roger Waters in concert I doubt there will be anyone who would think differently.
At one point during the night I even remember the Stonehenge monument completely filling with smoke, and then the lights began to pulse like a heart beat to the kick drum (guess that song...)

Throughout the night every member of the band got their chance to showcase their skills with their own moment to shine, including the 3 backup singers who also got a chance to have a solo each, and during a discussion on the way home we all had our favourites, but that would be telling...
The only real downer to the night was the police presence at the end of the night, blocking off the only exit to breath test 2500 people trying to leave the event. It was well over the top and ended up taking most people at least an hour just to leave the premises, although giving our pregnant driver an initial fail did give us all bit of a laugh.

This is possibly one of the longest reviews I have ever done, but there was so much going on I'm sure to have missed something out. As I said above there are really no words to describe this show, you have to go and see this for yourself.
I for one will be making sure I attend every Eclipse show possible from now on after seeing this. I'm still blown away by the level of skill involved piecing together what could be described as more of a production than just your average concert, with all the working parts moving in unison exactly as they should. I'm left feeling that if anyone could pull off a full duplication of The Wall in it's entirety it would be these guys, and I would sell your grandmother to see that.

 

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Review
24 Mar 2014 // by Asmith
Having never heard of Louis Baker before I was given this review I was unsure what to expect.This wasn't a bad thing though- have you ever heard an artist for the first time and just sat there going, wow, this is cool.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem