30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Broods - Broods EP Review

11 Feb 2014 // A review by Kate Taylor
Get ready to meet the new Kiwi music duo that you'll not only fall in love with; but surely will be scrambling to tell all your friends about as well. Broods aka Georgia and Caleb Nott, are a Nelson born and Auckland musically cultivated brother and sister who will no doubt be in the ears of many international taste-makers before the New Zealand Summer is through. Having recently spent time in-studio with Joel Little at the height of his Pure Heroine creation stage; that tight and lean musicality that Little has honed with Lorde is evident here and even cheekily self-referenced by the familial double act. On track Coattails, Georgia hauntingly coos; "...and we'll ride the coattails/to the finish line" - this is a move I personally love, as generally the best way to deal with tall poppies are to cut their heads off; and surely this track is calling out all would be detractors?

This self-titled EP suffers the curse that all truly great EP's suffer; is that you enjoy so much you wished they were an album and so hence you keep playing them again and again. Perfect for that dying light of Summer we are experiencing here in February; it's for sun drenched evenings riding out to that perfect place to enjoy what makes us uniquely kiwi, a sense of freedom and a sense of sassiness. In terms of content, the compositions are vibrant, dripping with enough mood to make them three dimensional but sparing them from becoming garish in there production bells and whistles. Essential, smooth listening and part of a neo-wave of sophisticated electronic pop that is fast becoming a trademark of NZ music.
 

About Broods

Meet Broods; the brother-sister duo of Georgia and Caleb Nott who hail from Nelson, and are now based in Auckland. It's been whirlwind time for the two who independently released their debut single Bridges to a heated bidding war to sign the group. Broods signed with Capitol Records in the USA, Polydor Records in the UK, and Island Australia & Universal NZ.

Georgia and Caleb started playing together around the age of ten, more recently, playing together as part of (the now defunct) Peasants. The two started spending time with Joel Little in the studio while he was also working on Lorde's Grammy nominated Pure Heroine.

Their song Bridges has clocked over 300,000 plays on Soundcloud, and Hypemachine says they are “pretty much destined for pop success”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Broods

Releases

Conscious
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Broods
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Evergreen
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Kate Taylor

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Live at No.10 South Street EP Review
04 Nov 2014 // by Kate Taylor
"You better sink that drink then baby come and fill your cup"...and get tipsy drunk on Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes!
Read More...
Rachel Dawick - The Boundary Riders Album Review
25 Sep 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Wow! What an inspirational woman!
Read More...
Songs From The Inside Vol II Album Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
There’s more out there in the New Zealand media landscape than what’s on your news feed or your particular pay TV channels… Maori Television is an important part of our media landscape and their creation of musical collaboration documentary, Songs from the Inside is a beautiful time capsule of some our most talented and kind musical artists (Anika Moa, Don McGlashan & Laughton Kora to name three), giving life and freedom through musical expression to some of our nation’s incarcerated. A delicate content matter at the best of times; the equivalent of the ‘difficult second album’ is released in Songs from the Inside Vol II which the show’s director and producer Julian Arahanga was concerned would be an undertaking to “recapture the same heart, feeling as the first series”; yet he needn’t worry as it certainly has recapturing that same ol magic and built on it.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - IXL EP Review
10 Jun 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I've written it once and I'll write it again... the absolute best part of reviewing music is that every so often you're introduced to an artist that you truly love and value, not just as a creative musical entity but also as a contributor to the fabric of what our ‘little’ nation can achieve in an audial realm.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - No Tomorrow Single Review
08 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
As luck would have it, I've stumbled on the backyard of stunning model and recent nzblokes 'Babe of the Week' - Sophie Burnside. Sophie is absolutely stunning and a quick Google search reveals that Sophie is also a bright, intelligent and health conscious individual...
Read More...
Smashproof - Survivors Feat. Pieter T Single Review
06 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
An uplifting tune that I'm sure is going to bring relief to not just a lot of kids; but also adults through the sentiments of Smashproof's new single Survivors which tackles issues of bullying, youth suicide and abuse, head on. It's a beautifully crafted piece of kiwi Hip Hop with a delicious hook sung sweetly by RnB artist Pieter T, sandwiched between thoughtful and thought-provoking MC turns on the mic from each of the Smashproof boys.
Read More...
Kimbra - Rock Steady/Wanna Be Startin' Something Single Review
05 May 2014 // by Kate Taylor
Oooh girl! This is the epitome of every getting dressed up, dolled up, laced up, heeled up 'get ready' session with your gal pals before a huge night out of being fierce and fabulous.
Read More...
Depths @ The Powerstation, Auckland 06/03/14
11 Apr 2014 // by Kate Taylor
I'm a long-time listener, yet first time viewer of the New Zealand heavy (very heavy) metal, death metal and hard-core band Depths and for me; what a worthy wait it was! I was fortunate to see one of NZ Metal's best and brightest in support to Suicide Silence and the absolutely stunning Down, as fronted by Phil Anselmo; formerly of some really rad metal band from the 90s and earlier, you might of heard of `em...
Read More...
View All Articles By Kate Taylor

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem