23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Teach the Living - The Feeding Begins Album Review

11 Feb 2014 // A review by RodrigoHidalgo

Dead Teach The Living are a 5 piece Auckland based band that's been injecting fans with their fix of pure heavy metal for the last 3 and a half years and are quickly rising in the New Zealand metal scene with their reputation of hectic, insane music both live and in studio.

The Official music video for their first single, Cystic Eyebrosis was released late last year and left me eager to listen to the rest of their self-produced debut album The Feeding Begins which definitely delivers 13 tracks of metal with high energy, solid production and a tasteful blend of progressive metal, thrash metal, extreme metal, hardcore punk with a sense of groove.

Not only was the album awesome and had a tonne of detail but the enjoyment of listening to it was so damn spontaneous it was almost infectious with their clear flow of tracks beginning with a heavy, aggressive and epic start to the album with the first track Blood to Dust which welcomes the listener with pummeling, monstrous well produced guitar and bass riffs that are tightly locked in with the dynamically progressive drums. Complementing the instrumentation quite well was the vocals which definitely made the grass greener for the album with the vocalist alternating from some pretty loud, energetic and raw yells to smoky, clean vocals which I thought were pretty good.

Blood to Dust starts off with an ominous drone of dissonant minor chords played on the guitar followed by the drums, without time to waste the song quickly turns into an aggressive, melodic punch to that face that pumped me up so much that I felt like throwing chairs across the room and this feeling was fairly constant throughout the whole album. This song brings forth some pretty technical drum beats and expressive guitar riffs then finishes with a perfected, groovy, emphasized version of the intro which I think completes the song nicely. 

The last three tracks No Room in Hell, Night of the Living Dead and Force Fed Fear are definitely my favorite combination of songs. Dead Teach The Living somehow fluctuates between a number of different tastes and moods but do it in a way that generously diversifies their sound throughout the whole album which kinda reminds me of early Between the Buried and Me.

The album cover illustrates their music to a certain extent. Personally I didn't feel drawn to it considering it's basically a visual representation of the albums output having the great mixture of music in mind when I hear the album but at the same time: it kinda sets the scene for the music. Lucky I never judge a book by its cover because the album as a whole was surely a chaotic 56 Minutes of my life I would not take back. it's diverse, chaotic chemistry surely grabbed my attention.

In my experience, bands like this usually loose their edge and rawness in the studio compared to a live situation because they don't necessarily have the live atmosphere and the hectic moshpit to add to the experience, I felt a little that way with this album, but not to the point where I'm disappointed. I think that this is a nice, well completed album and would recommend this to anyone who appreciates great musical talent and of course… some RAW Heavy Metal.

-Rodrigo

The Feeding Begins
View Track Listing
 

About Dead Teach the Living

Dead Teach the Living is a four piece metal band from Auckland, New Zealand, formed in mid-2010. Often described as a mix of extreme metal and punk, their eclectic range of influences becomes evident through the diversity and experimentation within songs.

After a few years of solid songwriting and gigging around the country they released their debut album 'The Feeding Begins' in February 2014. Now they have returned with their second self-produced release 'The Crowning' EP. Drawing influence from bands such as The Dillinger Escape Plan, Cynic, and Misfits, they have crafted an intricate yet energetic sound packed with substance.

Expect twisted melodies, crazy playing and a lot of intensity - on record and live!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Teach the Living

Releases

The Crowning
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Feeding Begins
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By RodrigoHidalgo

Paper Cranes - Album Review: The Road Home
13 Apr 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The warm, familiar feeling of serenity surrounded me as I was listening to the newly released album by the incredible Paper Cranes titled The Road Home. I had previously reviewed this band and have been a devoted fan since so when the opportunity to review this album was presented to me I had to take it!
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Bar Eden, Auckland 7/02/2015
20 Feb 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The air was thick with excitement outside Bar Eden as everyone knew that tonight three brilliantly picked bands were due to output their musical artform under the category of heavy metal, and heavy it was indeed. Tonight we are graced with instrumental specialists Love Of Chaos who are new to the spotlight, but rest assured are made up of a great selection of experienced, talented musicians from the lands of Auckland..
Read More...
The Datsuns - Deep Sleep Album Review
13 Nov 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
So today I'm doing a review on the album Deep Sleep by the legendary 4 piece psychedelic rock outfit The Datsuns, hailing from the depths of Cambridge, New Zealand.This is the sixth full length album they have under their belt, and being a big fan of their previous stuff and having seen them live a number of times I couldn't pass up doing a review for their new album.
Read More...
Paper Cranes @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 13/08/14
12 Sep 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Paper Cranes with White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton @ Wine Cellar, Auckland on 13 August 2014 The much anticipated August night had arrived, Paper Cranes, White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton were playing at the Wine Cellar on K road. I was freaking out a bit because I was running a bit late… when I arrived everyone was outside socializing as if if nothing else was going on so I asked a few people when it starts… Turns out that the event was running a bit late too so essentially I arrived just in time.
Read More...
Truth - Hollow World Album Review
07 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Truth, an Electronic production-duo from the lands of Christchurch. With their new album, Hollow World.
Read More...
The World According To The Difference Engine Album Review
02 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The World According To The Difference Engine is an album mainly written and performed by electronic genius Michael Travis who roams the streets of Auckland. The Difference Engine is a mainly instrumental project started by Michael (2005) and is now collaborating with a number of different artists.
Read More...
Fiona Pears - Swing Driven Thing Album Review
20 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
I don't even know where to begin. I just have to say that simply, I love it!
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Please Find Me Girl Single Review
02 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Listening to Riqi Harawira's new song Please Find Me Girl the first thing I noticed is the really well produced clean acoustic guitar playing in harmony to Riqi's voice which is a brilliant way to start a reggae song with a tasty blend of Blues, Jamaican Reggae and solid syncopated rhythms.  Riqi seems to be singing to a beautiful woman that he is absolutely infatuated with.
Read More...
View All Articles By RodrigoHidalgo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem