5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Armed In Advance - Harder Times EP Review

06 Feb 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

It's already February 2014 and I'm on the hunt for some new music. Sick of listening to the same old bands I've been listening to for the last 10 years give or take a few exceptions, a close friend suggested to me the fresh sound from Auckland band Stitches. I have actually seen these guys play live once or twice, and from what I remember for a 3 piece band, they were incredibly tight and polished, and their sound was huge.

Eager to hear what they might lay down in the studio, I spoke to the lead singer/guitarist J.P Carroll and got invited to review their brand new EP Harder Times. After having heard their debut single Blood On Your Harem which featured on The Rock's 'Off The Record' segment, I was looking forward to this. I loaded up the playlist, plugged in the surround sound, and hit the go button .. then after about 20 seconds, I hit the stop button. Why would I do this you might ask, well the answer is that low volume does not do this band justice. I tweaked the volume a touch over 3/4 and sat back with a smile on my face. Dissonant guitar chords, off time drum beats, gravelly vocals that flow creatively into some of the most amazing hard rock songs that have come out of Auckland in a long time.

It is honestly straight up hard rock, not like these bands who write 'we are a hard rock band' in their band bio but sound very much to me like pop. Track 1 is their first single Blood On Your Harem which is an amazingly catchy track, deemed good enough for national radio play on NZ's most popular rock station, this sets the standard for an amazing 20 minute EP. The stand out songs for me are track 2 (Light) and track 3 (Shadow Puppets).

If I was to describe the vocal lines, I would suggest that early Daniel Johns (Silverchair) meets Brett Scallions (Fuel) meets Brandon Boyd (Incubus). The rest of the band (Daniel Purchase on drums and Hugh Hokopaura on bass) groove tightly together with intricate licks and hard hits mimic something a little more similar to the likes of Chevelle, Breaking Benjamin, or Deftones. This combination makes for a growley, smooth but aggressive, heavy EP which is so easy to listen to.

It's hard for me to write the words to describe how much I enjoy Harder Times as a creative masterpiece, all I can suggest is that for all of you who have an ear for fine heavy rock on a global scale, get out of your chairs and support kiwi music buy buying this EP, its one you will be listening to for years to come

 

About Armed In Advance

Armed In Advance are a heavy rock trio from Auckland with a penchant for ruthlessly efficient, hard hitting post-grunge songs laced with pop sensibilities and thought provoking undertones. Hailing from Auckland, the band is made up of JP Carroll (guitar and vocals), Hugh Hokopaura (bass) and Ryan Thomas (drums).

Since starting out in 2013 under the moniker of Stitches, AIA have released an EP (Stitches EP, 2014) and a full length (Change/Evolve, 2016), and have subsequently had the honor of 5 songs gracing the NZ rock radiowaves over that time. The most recent success of rotation play for single Same Old Story on the country’s biggest rock radio station, the Rock FM, paved the way for a debut full length album described as “refreshing… modern hard rock with a point of difference.” (Muzic.net.nz)
Change/Evolve reached #9 on the NZ album charts, and was accompanied by a sold out Auckland release show. Two tracks from Change/Evolve were deemed worthy of NZ On Air funded music video grants (Same Old Story, Running You Down).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Armed In Advance

Releases

Change/Evolve
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Harder Times
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Stitches EP
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem