30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blackleaf Gardens - @ Backbeat Bar, Auckland 13/12/13

07 Jan 2014 // A review by Carl Hayman

As someone who had never really heard of Blackleaf Gardens before, I was really not sure what to expect when I got invited to their latest album release party. I decided not to do any research on them as an artist before heading along to the gig and to let their album release party give me the very first impression of the band. I had a look around at the crowd, and thought to myself, this isn't your typical rock gig - not the usual crowd of black jean and t-shirt wearing rockers with a chain hanging off their back pocket - the crowd seemed edgier.

After asking a few people around the room what they thought of Blackleaf Gardens, I got a few "yeah they're great" and
"totally awesome bro" responses, which I was expecting - but no-one really wanted to elaborate, but then they started to play ... Wow .. heavy and thick guitar riffs, but not your typical 'I wish I was in Pantera' riffs - these guys are quite unique.

Their sound is big, and quirky, and their drummer is quite honestly brutal. Offbeat grooves, nice deep bass tones, and dissonant guitar tones. I was waiting for some more melodic vocals, however I really started to understand the more I listened to them that this isn't where Blackleaf Gardens were heading with their sound, and the more I listened, the more the sound amalgamated together into something very distinctly unique. To be fair, I couldn't even start to compare them to anybody else.

In general to sum it up, if you are a musician, or you appreciate your instrument, you have to see these guys play live. The utilisation of unusual guitar chords, the deep tone of a 6 string bass, and using a small drumkit to reproduce the sound of a very bit drumkit are a big thumbs up. Check out Blackleaf Gardens for hard rock/metal with a unique twist.

 

About Blackleaf Gardens

Blackleaf Gardens is a four piece progressive metal band that brings crushing riffs, groovy tune and chaotically progressive rhythms together with catchy bipolar vocals delivering screams through lullabies. Likened to prestigious acts such as Opeth, Mastodon, The Faceless and Tool. The band brings an explosive, bizarre and maniacal performance.

The band formed in 2011 and has been climbing the local music scene with relentless ferocity leaving a lasting impression and building momentum. This has lead the band to open for Lord (Australia), El Schlong as well as many leading local acts.

2012 saw the release of the band's first five track EP "Seedling State," produced entirely by the band, which received repeated radio play and led the band to win the K.I.L.L. (Keep it Live & Loud) competition run by local radio station The Flat FM. The prize included means to record a debut album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blackleaf Gardens

Releases

Key To Infinity
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Seedling State
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem