3 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fly My Pretties - The Homeland Recordings Album Review

17 Dec 2013 // A review by Dilemma

Going into Summer there is nothing better than finding some new summery tunes to help pass time and make memories, I’m not sure that the newest Fly My Pretties album titled The Homeland Recordings fits into that 'summery' category. It does however, have a country roads and wide open spaces contemplative quality that will get you through the longest road trips, relaxed, heartfelt, and intimate, it reflects the spirit of many of the small kiwi towns FMP visited on their recent Homelands Tour.

The 13 tracks are all live recordings, utilising the exceptional musicians that FMP is famous for. This is an album full of raw, emotive and passionate lyrics and harmonies driving each track. Mel Parsons' pensive Far Away is an early highlight her husky but oh so sweet voice layering a fast paced guitar track. So many contributing artists to be named as part of this collective, including Wellington's Shaun Blackwell who rocks out with Beggin' On My Knees and a crowd and fan favourite Anika Moa singing her beautifully honest new track Cry. Five Mile Town's Louis McDonald draws you in with soft guitar and piano ballad titled Headlights. Ria Hall adds depth and culture in Let My People Go and ending with One, a vocally powerful bilingual track. Not forgetting to mention the brilliance of Kara Gordon, Mark Vanilau, Ryan Prebble, Mike Fabulous, Jarney Murphy, Nigel Patterson and the driving force Barnaby Weir.

Fly My Pretties is always full of naturally talented musicians who collaborate so well to create something distinctively kiwi. While The Homeland Recordings are a lot more than just a light summery album, it definitely deserves your attention as one to listen to this summer. 

The Homeland Recordings
View Track Listing
 

About Fly My Pretties

Fly My Pretties are New Zealand's favourite live collaborative group starring a selection of the country’s finest contemporary musicians, all set to a visual backdrop.

Since its inception, Fly My Pretties has grown to become a local legend of music that continues to reach people all over the world. Fly My Pretties first entered New Zealanders’ hearts and minds in 2004, with the idea from The Black Seeds front-man Barnaby Weir and Mikee Tucker (Loop), to assemble a talented and exciting group of Wellington-based musicians for a special project.

The objective: To meet, exchange ideas, and then perform and record the results in front of a live audience. Fly My Pretties performed their first season at Wellington’s Bats Theatre over five nights. It was a hit, and Fly My Pretties became Bats most attended event of 2004. Likewise, the album Fly My Pretties - Live at Bats achieved platinum-status, received 6 B-Net nominations (winning Best Pop Album), and was released internationally in the UK.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fly My Pretties

Releases

The Studio Recordings Part 2
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Studio Recordings Part 1
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
String Theory (The Complete Show)
Year: 2017
Type: Album
String Theory
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Homeland Recordings
Year: 2013
Type: Album
IV
Year: 2012
Type: Album
A Story
Year: 2009
Type: Album
The Return Of Fly My Pretties
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Live At Bats
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem