28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review

02 Dec 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that? well with all due respect you should buy the single to see if this review actually makes sense. From the get go you do not even have time to sit down with your freshly boiled brew, the opening chord sends you into a spasm that takes the rest of the song to get under control, maybe it's just me and my response to an exciting opening.

I love the production of this song, its very crisp and no doubt a lot of work has gone into making this song the ultimate article. It’s very reminiscent of the early 2000 music that came in the form of Nu-Metal scene. I was never a huge fan of the likes of Korn, Linkin Park and Slipknot but this song is catchy and a slight notch below the commercial sounds of the above bands. This is no knock to the sound itself as it is very listenable, but there is nothing of note that says “listen to me, I’m going to rock your world off its foundations”.

The song is energetic, it brings the listener to attention and draws you closer to take head and follow the rasping guitar work. I’m a fan of short and sharp songs that do not drag on, and this song definitely fits in that category and the chaps should be commended. If you like a hard music sound, this will be like tea and scones for you. If you're looking for something a little more mellow then this band will be like going to the toilet when there is no toilet paper left, dare I say you will feel empty and not very satisfied with the walk home.

All kiwi music is a buy from me as they should be helped in every way possible.

 

About Fictional Response

Debut single Scarred available on iTunes now!

FR's trademark is loud, explosive bursts of noise combined with softer textures.

The music draws from diverse inspirations, creating a fusion of crashing metal elements and sonic juxtapositions of ambiance and energy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fictional Response

Releases

There are no releases to display for Fictional Response.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Supervillains (RMC) - SVRMC EP Review
09 Sep 2013 // by Chris Chick
I love taking on new challenges, I put my head down and meet the oncoming collision without any thought for my well being.  When I was given this assignment, I made a few trips to the world of the internet, to research this chaps, to assume the attack position.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem