8 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review

02 Dec 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that? well with all due respect you should buy the single to see if this review actually makes sense. From the get go you do not even have time to sit down with your freshly boiled brew, the opening chord sends you into a spasm that takes the rest of the song to get under control, maybe it's just me and my response to an exciting opening.

I love the production of this song, its very crisp and no doubt a lot of work has gone into making this song the ultimate article. It’s very reminiscent of the early 2000 music that came in the form of Nu-Metal scene. I was never a huge fan of the likes of Korn, Linkin Park and Slipknot but this song is catchy and a slight notch below the commercial sounds of the above bands. This is no knock to the sound itself as it is very listenable, but there is nothing of note that says “listen to me, I’m going to rock your world off its foundations”.

The song is energetic, it brings the listener to attention and draws you closer to take head and follow the rasping guitar work. I’m a fan of short and sharp songs that do not drag on, and this song definitely fits in that category and the chaps should be commended. If you like a hard music sound, this will be like tea and scones for you. If you're looking for something a little more mellow then this band will be like going to the toilet when there is no toilet paper left, dare I say you will feel empty and not very satisfied with the walk home.

All kiwi music is a buy from me as they should be helped in every way possible.

 

About Fictional Response

Debut single Scarred available on iTunes now!

FR's trademark is loud, explosive bursts of noise combined with softer textures.

The music draws from diverse inspirations, creating a fusion of crashing metal elements and sonic juxtapositions of ambiance and energy.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fictional Response

Releases

There are no releases to display for Fictional Response.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem