22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Black Seeds - Black Seeds @ James Cabaret, Wellington 15/11/13

27 Nov 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald

No fuss, no dramas, The Black Seeds walked on stage as though they owned it. There wasn’t the usual glamour or glitz that some of the big bands have, or feel that they need to have. This was totally pure, and totally refreshing.

The close compact nature of the James Cabaret venue and the quality of the sound had all the makings of a great gig and the crowd were pumped and ready to go. 

Guess what? They didn’t disappoint.

Only a few weeks ago in Wellington did I have the pleasure of watching Fat Freddy’s Drop who are of a similar genre, but to be honest I preferred the Black Seeds. They really looked like they were enjoying the moment, and the music speaks for itself.

Barnaby Weir doesn’t even look like your typical front man and it feels like he’s one of your mates down at the pub after a quick pint.

A good mix of songs from their studio albums including my favourite Dust and Dirt thudded across the floor. The bass was pumping through my veins and the brass section were so sharp and energised it makes for a world class section.

This is Kiwi music at its best. If you ever get chance to get to see them just do it.

 

About The Black Seeds

Originating from Wellington, The Black Seeds have carved out their reputation through platinum selling albums, a masterful live show, and a sound that fuses infectious grooves and melodies with undiluted roots music. With numerous European festival tours behind them, and a successful 2009 North American album release, their following continues to spread quickly around the globe.

Led by the vocals of Barnaby Weir and Daniel Weetman, at its core The Black Seeds music is a boundary-crossing sound fusion of big-beat funk, dub, soul, mixed with vintage roots-reggae.

Described by Clash Magazine as "one of the best reggae acts on the planet", their legendary 8-piece live show brings the raw energy and good vibes wherever it goes. They have countless sell-out New Zealand and Australasian tours behind them, and regularly perform at many of Europe and North America’s biggest festivals.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Black Seeds

Releases

Refabricated
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Fabric
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dust and Dirt
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Live Vol. 1
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Specials
Year: 2010
Type: Unknown
Solid Ground
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Sometimes Enough
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Into The Dojo
Year: 2006
Type: Album
On The Sun
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Pushed (Keep On Pushing Remixed)
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Keep On Pushing
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem