23 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

April Fish - Blurred Album Review

26 Nov 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

The question on the lips of the sheep is not so much a who; we know the dynamic duo behind the masks of April Fish are Wellingtonians Katie Morton and John Costa. 

After listening to their debut Blurred what the sheep are trying to define is what. 

This isn’t a case for Google and their trusty side-kick Bing, unless they’re interest is the origin of April Fool’s Day. Even April Fish themselves have trouble describing their sound. Attempts include “Progressive Alternative Jazzy Chamber-Pop-Rock” and “Part sci-fi jazz melodrama, part cabaret-rock fever dream.”

Listening to Blurred won’t help the sheep define the music either. It’s like nothing most people have ever heard before. At times it’s chamber music, an operatic orchestration. At others it’s the soundtrack to a 1930s Raygun Gothic Sci-Fi that was never made. It’s altogether beautiful in all its multilayered rawness and lyrically vivid. I've never played Catch-n-Kiss with a Piranha, but since hearing the Villain Not Quite Bad Enough to Hate I can’t get the image from my mind.

Blurred is music that doesn’t quite fit the candy coated norm, for people who don’t swim in the mainstream by a couple of free thinkers who are not trying to be the next Natalie Imbruglia.

Even though handing a copy of Blurred to a Bieber or Cyrus fan is probably the best thing for them, it’s like handing your Linear Algebra homework to an English Literature Major.

If you consider yourself an individual, a thinker apart from the rat race, if you appreciate unique music that doesn’t make 15 year olds scream, if you think anything Amanda Palmer touches turns to gold, if you hate the words YOLO and Twerk, then I suggest you look up April Fish.

You can find Blurred streaming from their website (http://aprilfish.co.nz/music.htm).

 

About April Fish

A name born from the literal translation of the French term for "April Fools (day)", April Fish is pianist/singer-songwriter Katie Morton ably backed by John Costa. The music is a concoction of soundscapes with an artistic freedom that is so left of the middle, it's as if Tim Burton and Kate Bush are in command of the Starship Enterprise as it boldly accompanies Alice down the rabbit hole. Or put simply, to borrow the words of Katie's niece: "It sounds like an alien invading a circus."

In their first full length release they have given birth to a Kiwi album unlike anything you’ve ever heard before.

Part sci-fi jazz melodrama, part cabaret-rock fever dream, Blurred gleefully milks all the musical sacred cows Kiwi artists have traditionally been afraid to, while spawning a unique New Zealand Gothicism. Blurred is at some points space opera, at others an unapologetic insight into New Zealand subculture attitudes towards status quo art; its poignant introspection and need to defy convention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for April Fish

Releases

An Alien Invaded The Circus
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Blurred
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • ANTISOCIAL
    Ed Sheeran feat. Travis Scott
  • REMEMBER THE NAME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Eminem And 50 Cent
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem