27 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ekko Park - Tomorrow Tomorrow Today album review

08 Nov 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Tomorrow… Tomorrow… Today.

The title of Ekko Park’s newest release epitomises the procrastination process behind any project I have ever undertaken, be it a music review or walking to town to get a haircut. There is an opportune time for everything and with summer creeping up the legs of most of New Zealand’s urban centre’s it is the opportune time for Tomorrow Tomorrow Today.

The album has a good flow for those that still enjoy listening to an album sequentially, as opposed to the single at a time culture digital media has bred. Beginning with the energetic, Pearl Jam album by Pearl Jam like, Little I’s & Big You’s until Simpatico where things start to slow down, and become more of Placebo/late-era Foo Fighters. 

It’s these later tracks that resonate with me the most. I do enjoy that Ekko Park can get me dancing, but I’m more for a building tension and progression, like in the tracks Making Waves and Twenty7. They’re also good tracks to show of Ekko Park’s dynamic sound and technical abilities. Anyone can thrash a song to 4/4, the Ramones made a career out of it, but to build from the hollow noise of guitar feedback to a solid ear beating without jarring the audience takes skill.

After doing a bit of background reading of Chris from Muzic.net.nz’s review of Ekko Park’s earlier single Becoming the Enemy, which features on Tomorrow Tomorrow Today, I agree that “sharp, well produced and easy on the ears” is a succinct description of not just Becoming the Enemy but the Ekko Park brand of melodic rock in general.

Tomorrow Tomorrow Today is now available from all good record stores and on iTunes.

If you haven't already you can catch Ekko Park live this November.  See more here: http://www.muzic.net.nz/gig-guide/69876/tattoo-and-art-festival

Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
View Track Listing
 

About Ekko Park

Ekko Park released their highly anticipated, independently released second album Know Hope in October 2015, going straight in to the Official NZ Album Chart at #13 and was the #5 Kiwi album.

2017 saw the release of the single Going Uptown which continued the bands rise and success in Europe, culminating in Ekko Park's first ever European Tour across Italy with a stop in Ireland.

2018 starts in earnest as the band welcomes new guitarist Alex Hargreaves to the team.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ekko Park

Releases

Know Hope
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Tomorrow Tomorrow Today
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem