17 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stray Theories - Those Who Remain Album Review

15 Oct 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

If ever you needed a soundtrack to the world crumbling down around you, then look no further than Those Who Remain. No other album will make you feel more at peace as the world begins to burn than the latest from Stray Theories.

Of Even Though We Sleep, the last offering from Stray Theories, I wrote “it would be easy to write this album off as an Ambient album, but there is more to the album than just Ambience.” 

The same could be said of Those Who Remain. There is such depth to the music and the emotions and nostalgia invoked are so subjective that it’s impossible to relate how it makes me feel without an allusion from my life story. It’s all that Ghosts from Nine Inch Nails should have been.

Where Trent Reznor was just showing off what he could do with his expensive new toys, Those Who Remain is the product of someone who has a good understanding of spatial dynamics and a natural ear for soundscape production.

If you enjoyed Ghosts or are a regular oneironaut, used to transcending space and time while sojourning through the atmosphere of post-rock and ambience, then I highly recommend Those Who Remain. Where Even Though We Sleep was a welcome relief to my insomnia, Those Who Remain is helping overcoming the numbness that comes with working ten hour days in a stale office.

You can download and stream Those Who Remain from the Stray Theories Bandcamp (http://straytheories.bandcamp.com/) or for the die hard fans and retro enthusiasts you can order the extremely limited edition Cassette from Already Dead Tapes (http://alreadydeadtapes.bigcartel.com/product/ad084-stray-theories-those-who-remain-cassette).

Those Who Remain
View Track Listing
 

About Stray Theories

Stray Theories is the musical pseudonym of Micah Templeton-Wolfe, an Australian ambient producer/composer residing in New Zealand.

He has been composing and releasing music for over a decade and his ambient soundscapes have been released on many labels throughout the world. He also has many on-going collaborations and remix projects, in addition to his work composing music for film/media and performing his experimental/ambient projects live.

Heavily influenced by minimal ambient, post-rock, shoegaze & modern classical, his music is a fusion of uplifting melodic ambience & dark/melancholic soundscapes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stray Theories

Releases

All That Was Lost
Year: 2018
Type: Album
We Never Left
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Those Who Remain
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Even Though We Sleep
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins
24 Sep 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album. Observations Muffins: Warm.
Read More...
Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit. On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • VIBES
    Six60
  • BODY
    Loud Luxury feat. brando
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem