21 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blacklistt - Blacklistt Album Review

14 Oct 2013 // A review by terry666

There are two Kiwi albums that I have been waiting for this year with baited breath. The first one was The Shadow Masters from 8 Foot Sativa and this one from Blacklistt. Both bands are on somewhat of a comeback trail so both their new releases were critical to their future endeavours. I’m very happy to say that neither of these albums failed to deliver. Both have given us outstanding releases.

Blacklistt hit the comeback trail about 2 years ago with their first show back being at Homegrown where they were greeted with a huge reception. On that day they released their first single off the album and announced the new name and the intention to record the album which has taken just under two years to finally make it to our airwaves. Since then they have released another three songs to help build the excitement and it was all justified.

This album is classic Blacklistt. There has been only one major change in the line-up since they took a break and changed their name and that was the drummer and their new drummer slots in perfectly and there sound has not changed much at all. I think the most dramatic change in sound when they were still Blindspott and this came between the first and second albums with the guitar sound on the End The Silence having more of a chaotic swirl to it.   

The opening tracks Tell Me Who and From the Blind Spot staunchly announcing their return. Big songs with big attitude it’s a great opening to the album. Home is one of the softer moments of the album but fits right in the mix and will be a great sing along anthem at the shows. Worth fighting for was one of the singles released to build the anticipation and showcases their uniqueness. 

Not My Hell blew me away. It’s one of the most touching songs I have ever heard. It’s a very sad song that breaks your heart and is on par with Just know from End The Silence both being very personal songs. This is quickly becoming a fan favourite as I have seen on social media sites which has surprised me somewhat as a large portion of their fan base would be into rock and heavy metal and Not My Hell is far from both styles. I may lose a little credibility with my Metal friends but I cried my eyes out the first time I heard this song. It captures all the emotion of those innocent ones taken from us too soon and the feelings for those left behind to deal with it.

Burn was another single release and returns to the aggression of previous songs like Suffocate, S.U.I.T and Lit Up from their debut release as Blindspott. This is another great song and has gone down a treat live. White lies encourage you to rock out and we slide down to a quieter pace that leads us to the end of the album. The final song Reflections takes us out and is another song that is quickly becoming a fan favourite.

Blacklistt takes you on a soaring journey from relentless aggression to some of the softest touching moments I’ve ever encountered. This album stays true to their roots and will grow their exploding fan base.

Blacklistt
View Track Listing
 

About Blacklistt

Featuring 4 of the 5 original members of Blindspott.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blacklistt

Releases

Blacklistt
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem