27 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lisa Crawley - Lisa Crawley Live @ Paddington, Auckland 5/10/13

10 Oct 2013 // A review by JesseBlackleaf

Having just finished listening to Lisa Crawley’s brand new album All In My Head only several days before, my expectations for this show were at an all-time high. I was jittery, had butterflies and a sense of pride as I strolled to the venue with my plus one, spoke my name and was granted entry. The rest of the night was a breeze.

Before the artists had even begun there was a friendly and inviting energy in the air. Couples deep involved in conversation were laughing, barmen and women served drinks to the thirsty customer and a brightly lit stage lay dormant waiting for the first performer to take the reins. Sound technicians were darting around making sure every little thing was perfect, I looked around the homey, vintage bar and felt at peace. With Guinness in hand I was ready to begin taking notes and report my review.

To open the night the very talented Evan Sinton played a solo set with nothing but his Taylor guitar and amazing voice. Instantly I was taken back by the power of this young man’s vocal power and clarity. He played his guitar very well using the instrument as the background to his vocals which came out very well. Sweet songs were listened to by all and the mood of the whole evening was improved dramatically. It was at this point that I noticed Lisa darting through the crowd talking to several people and getting a feel for the crowd. I had the pleasure of conversing with her for 30 seconds before Evan finished his set and Lisa had to prepare. Being a gigging musician myself I can understand the adrenaline rush you get when the act before you finishes their set.

It was several minutes later that I saw Lisa again, this time she was on stage flanked by one guitarist, one bassist and a drummer in the back. Although calling the musicians just a guitarist or bassist would be a lie. These men were very talented, each playing both guitar and bass, swapping instruments for different songs even moving to the trumpet and ukulele. Lisa even swapped out with the guitar player on one of the last songs for the keyboard which was awesome to see.

The band itself was tight, professional, creative and fun.  The tone in the room was huge. Bass was very big but not overpowering, it sit well in the mix thanks to the good work of the sound technician. The sounds of Lisa’s digital piano filled out every corner of the room merging frequencies with her lovely voice that was layered with the perfect amount of reverb from the sound desk. In between songs Lisa’s quirky personality came through as she introduced songs from the album and had a good chat to the crowd, explaining the origins of certain songs and the meaning behind them. My personal favorite song that I have had stuck in my head for the last few days is Stranger, both album and live versions. The song feels like it means a lot to Lisa.

The turn out of the evening was great, for a smaller venue it packed out and I easily found myself looking around at the different groups that had come to appreciate the good music. I did notice that my plus one and I seemed to be the only people in our age group that was at the gig and it felt kind of peculiar. If a heavy metal bassist can appreciate this style of music there is no reason that someone else cannot.

The last song of the evening was the single off of All In My Head which makes sense for reasons of exposure and having the single stuck in your head. After the song finished we were thanked for coming and wished a good evening but the show was not yet over. Lisa and the band came back on to perform a couple more songs including the bonus track off of her album, Loneliest Girl In The World. The song was sung with Lisa using only her microphone and the guitar player now switched to Ukulele which was a nice touch.

All around the night was a great success and I had a lot of fun attending and getting into the music. Leaving the gig was almost sad for me, like a big chapter of my life had just ended. The pop scene definitely hasn’t seen the last of me however. Evan Sinton was amazing and Lisa Crawley lived up to the sweetness of the album. The fun atmosphere was palpable, awesome crowd response to the tracks and fun vibes were had by all.

Jesse Reeves.

 

About Lisa Crawley

Indie-pop chanteuse Lisa Crawley has been immersed in music since the age of four.
Numerous albums, EPs and singles later, her refreshingly honest onstage presence and
emotionally authentic pop songs enchant the hearts and minds of an ever-growing
global audience.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lisa Crawley

Releases

Up In The Air
Year: 2015
Type: EP
All In My Head
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Everything That I Have Seen
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Shoot The Night
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JesseBlackleaf

Beastwars @ Kings Arms, Auckland 22/11/13
24 Nov 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
For me personally, the name Beastwars was not one that held a lot of influence in my life. Over the years my friends, band mates and colleagues had told tales to me of the epicness that Beastwars put into their shows and the power one of their live performances holds.
Read More...
Heathen Eyes - Blood of Cain Single Release Gig Review @ Kings Arms Tavern, Auckland 01/11/13
02 Nov 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
Rocking up to The Kings Arms Tavern is always a good feeling for me. A lot of the best times of my music career have been in that joint and it holds a lot of special memories.
Read More...
Lisa Crawley - All In My Head Album Review
30 Sep 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
It’s been a while since my last review and I have been looking forward to this album for quite some time, when suddenly I returned home from work one evening to see a package addressed to me that contained my Lisa Crawley CD. I am writing this review from first impressions so here we go!
Read More...
Datewiththeknife - I Read A Book About A Mountain Album Review
14 Aug 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
Full, original, heartfelt and emotional are all words that could be used to describe the debut album from Palmerston North based band Datewiththeknife. Having not listened to much Indie Rock myself, I've come into this with an open mind and unbiased opinion.
Read More...
Janine and the Mixtape - Dark Mind EP Review
06 Aug 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
The Dark Mind EP by Janine and the Mixtape offers much in the way of contemporary RnB. In an industry such as the RnB scene where it can be quite difficult to produce something fresh, new and exciting, Janine and the Mixtape have succeeded at this very feat.
Read More...
Oslo Brown - Through The Storm Single Review
05 Aug 2013 // by JesseBlackleaf
Through the Storm is the upcoming single by folk/pop group Oslo Brown from their debut EP 120. On the whole I was impressed by this track that they seemingly produced out of nowhere.
Read More...
View All Articles By JesseBlackleaf

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem