21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Forsaken Age - Forsaken Age, Fallen Order, Red Dawn, Dick Tracy @ The Royal 06/09/2013
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Forsaken Age - Forsaken Age, Fallen Order, Red Dawn, Dick Tracy @ The Royal 06/09/2013

27 Sep 2013 // A review by Asmith

Dick Tracy blows onto the stage with their party rock anthems and I get my first look at the insane lighting rig being used for the night, which was quite a show (and a step up for the usual lighting rig thanks to their manager Tank) but may have been a tad bright for the room at times, making me wish I'd brought my shades along to the gig (although I did wonder if this was just my age and hundreds of gigs catching up with me haha).

As the first band on there weren't that many people there but they had people up the front dancing as soon as they started playing, and they still played like the place was packed out. Heavy catchy riffs and gritty growly vocals set the DT party off thumping em out one after the other as more and more people started to turn up, playing their singles Old Long Johnson and Party Pete. When it was over I couldn't help but think that was just not enough dick to satisfy me...

Red Dawn hit the stage next to kick off the rest of the night that was jampacked with NWOBHM influence. Lots of Maiden style riffs and guitar harmonies and a lot of Halford style screams, Even some of the shredding solos were dual harmonized perfectly, Thin Lizzy and Iron Maiden would be proud. It helped that the guitar tone was clear and crisp, it can be hard to get a nice sound out of a brick room but it came through nicely.

The first thing I noticed about Fallen Order was their drummer sitting on a kitchen chair instead of a drum stool, must be something in it too cos he was on fire! Bass tone stuck out amazingly well too through another NWOBHM (influenced), and it's always a bit harder to get a nice bass tone (compared to guitar, or maybe that's just me?) so when it stands out it's magic. Vocalist spent more time in a slightly higher end of the vocal spectrum with stronger more confident Halford screams.

Forsaken Age got to the stage, and while it was still very NWOBHM I couldn't help but notice other influences too, for example the first song had a very “sabbath” vibe to it, and it was nice to see a chick vocalist get up there and her thing, more than keeping up with the boys!

There was a lot of call and response style vocal/guitar licks, with a lot of heavy throaty yells from both the main vocals and BV's taking us into some very smooth solo work.

I was a little disapointed to see a lot of the crowd had dispersed by the time the headliners came on (it was 12.30, was it passed your curfew?) but they didn't let it faze them at all, Chrissy (vocals) running out into the crows with her wireless set up to get those of us who were still there pumped up. Last song of the night got some call and response crowd participation going before a list of thank you's to end the night, always nice to see some humble (self proclaimed) Jaffa's haha

 

About Forsaken Age

Heavy Metal is currently lost in a wilderness of trends, fashion and Pop Idols.

We battle for the Forsaken Age of Heavy Metal. Uniting the denim vest, leather clad metal warriors who believe Heavy Metal is a way of life and not for sale.

Forsaken Age makes the call for all heavy metal warriors to stand together, make their mark and battle to keep true metal alive.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Forsaken Age

Releases

Vengeance of the Slain
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Back Form Extinction
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Review
24 Mar 2014 // by Asmith
Having never heard of Louis Baker before I was given this review I was unsure what to expect.This wasn't a bad thing though- have you ever heard an artist for the first time and just sat there going, wow, this is cool.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Eclipse - Pink Floyd Tribute Band @ Stonehenge 01/02/2014
16 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
Let me just start of by stating there are simply not enough words in the english language to adequately describe how amazing this show was, but I will do my best. We pulled into the parking area to be guided with precision into our space, then jumped in in the que with the other 2500 people who had come to this event and made our way in surprisingly fast.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem