12 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kieran Cooper - Did You Miss Me? EP Review

15 Sep 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Did You Miss Me? asks the title of Kieran Cooper’s newest solo EP, and the answer is a resounding yes. Though, for Kieran’s nearest and dearest fans Kieran has never really been absent since his last offerings, Yes, No, Sincerely and Yes, No, Acoustic. He’s being playing, practicing, recording and refining, as any artist does.

Did You Miss Me? is the result of Kieran’s refining, and a refinement of Kieran’s sound is what we are given. He has come a long way since 2011’s In Search of Reason. Where Kieran’s first solo release was dark, chaotic and experimental, the product of an artist finding his sound, Did You Miss Me? is the sound and soul of Kieran Cooper. 

Like Yes, No, Sincerely, Did You Miss Me? is a stripped back, intimate and real performance, just a guy with a guitar, sounding just like it would in a live setting, highlighting Kieran as one of New Zealand’s best upcoming singer-songwriters. There really is no basis of comparison to any other artist I have encountered, Kieran’s voice is unique. You’ve really got to hear the music.

You can find Did You Miss Me? on Kieran Cooper’s bandcamp now for FREE download and stream, and look out for him doing the local touring circuit sometime soon.

 

About Kieran Cooper

From his soon to be released single and EP, expect rich vocal harmonies and guitar work reminiscent of Elliott Smith, Kristin Hersh and Iron & Wine.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kieran Cooper

Releases

Sticks & Stones
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Did You Miss Me?
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Yes, No, Sincerely
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem