31 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kieran Cooper - Did You Miss Me? EP Review

15 Sep 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Did You Miss Me? asks the title of Kieran Cooper’s newest solo EP, and the answer is a resounding yes. Though, for Kieran’s nearest and dearest fans Kieran has never really been absent since his last offerings, Yes, No, Sincerely and Yes, No, Acoustic. He’s being playing, practicing, recording and refining, as any artist does.

Did You Miss Me? is the result of Kieran’s refining, and a refinement of Kieran’s sound is what we are given. He has come a long way since 2011’s In Search of Reason. Where Kieran’s first solo release was dark, chaotic and experimental, the product of an artist finding his sound, Did You Miss Me? is the sound and soul of Kieran Cooper. 

Like Yes, No, Sincerely, Did You Miss Me? is a stripped back, intimate and real performance, just a guy with a guitar, sounding just like it would in a live setting, highlighting Kieran as one of New Zealand’s best upcoming singer-songwriters. There really is no basis of comparison to any other artist I have encountered, Kieran’s voice is unique. You’ve really got to hear the music.

You can find Did You Miss Me? on Kieran Cooper’s bandcamp now for FREE download and stream, and look out for him doing the local touring circuit sometime soon.

 

About Kieran Cooper

From his soon to be released single and EP, expect rich vocal harmonies and guitar work reminiscent of Elliott Smith, Kristin Hersh and Iron & Wine.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kieran Cooper

Releases

Sticks & Stones
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Did You Miss Me?
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Yes, No, Sincerely
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem