2 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

8 Foot Sativa - The Shadow Masters Album Review

04 Sep 2013 // A review by terry666

8 Foot Sativa came onto the NZ metal scene just over 10 years ago and gave it an injection which spread like wildfire and inspired thousands of young metal heads to pick up instruments and bang their heads. Kiwi metal heads had their Kings and knew that 8 Foot were the ones to make Kiwi metal an international brand. But after four albums all went quite and they appeared to have left us.

Several years passed, then from out of nowhere there appeared to be stirrings within the camp and rumour became fact as their return was announced. I’m a huge 8 Foot fan so this review will be extremely biased but I can’t help that because to me 8 Foot Sativa will always be one of the best Kiwi metal bands this country has ever produced and provided the benchmark for many to follow.

The comeback of 8 Foot was first off with a support set with Fear Factory which in a lot of peoples mind saw 8 Foot as the true headliners and then 2 tours to follow. I attended quite a few of these shows and saw for myself how once again the masses were all heeding the call to step up once again for 8 Foot Sativa. My expectations were huge for this album and I think this was a feeling among a lot of metal heads in New Zealand. Hate Made Me and Season For Assault were breakthrough albums and any new material would have to be on par with that.

So with The Shadow Masters in my hot little hands I was extremely excited to see what they had come up with to inspire the next generation.

From the opening roar you know 8 Foot are back with a vengeance. As It Burns, the first track up throws you at a frenetic pace at brick wall and scraps you off. My first reaction was Wow. Second song in Shadow Masters is my favourite track. They had released this track pre album release so I had a small inkling into what to expect and I’m left reeling so far with this album as it’s brutal as. 8 Foot are definitely back in form and tearing you a new one. I love that chorus as Jack hammers it into you.

Summoned the rise brings you the first taste of Jack finally showing us his hidden talent of singing. For years he has barked, screamed and roared at us and we loved it and now he shows us the full array. It’s only a glimpse mind you as he shows it in all its glory in the next track, Feeding The Weak.

Feeding The Weak showcases the new energised 8 Foot with Jack singing the whole chorus. It also shows some of the new style brought to the party with Perditionist guitarist Nik Davies joining the fray. There’s a wicked exit to the song with cool vocal overdubs.

The first two albums 8 Foot released were all guitars by Gary so other than over dubbing there wasn’t a lot of room for solos and no twin guitar attack. Now with the addition of Nik Davies they can now show off some of those other tricks in his bag of magic. Gary and Nik's guitar work, especially the leads on this album, are inspiring, trading off in a frenzy of attack that leaves you fully amped and ready to bounce off the walls.

It’s everything we were all hoping for and more. This is 8 Foot with all the pieces of the puzzle finally coming together. The whole album has a new sound with better production and the bells and whistles that should have been there in the past now there. I think fans will see this album as a natural progression and be excited about this bands future. The album certainly grows on you and eats its way into your brain each day a different song different phrase. I have got Back To Bare Bone stuck in my head at the moment. His singing on this track is once again another highlight. Jack's vocals are awesome reminding me of Mark Hunter from Chimera at points but still have Jack's unique sound and I really like the fact that he sings unlike previous albums. I’m very torn on where I put this album because for me Hate Made Me and Season For Assault were hugely influential albums, but in a lot of ways this album is superior to both of them.

If there’s one metal album you need to buy this year this is it. 8 Foot have returned as the Kings of New Zealand metal and are most definitely ready take on the international stage.

The Shadow Masters
View Track Listing
 

About 8 Foot Sativa

Exploding out of West Auckland in 1998, 8 Foot Sativa have gone from being a local band playing every week, to becoming the premier Metal band in New Zealand.

They are the first metal band in NZ to crack out of the small scene and bring New Zealand Heavy Metal to mainstream Kiwi's doorsteps, with the song 8 Foot Sativa staying at number 1 for three months and eight months in the charts. They have also had success overseas, in Australia, USA and Europe. With their first album Hate Made Me achieving Gold Record status, the follow up with Season for Assault, which established 8 Foot Sativa as a household name. Since then they have released 4 more albums Breed The Pain, Poison Of Ages, The Shadow Masters and 10 Years Of Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa have played with the big names of metal including Pantera, Motorhead, Korn, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Soul Fly, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had 2 Big Day Out appearances on the main stage, sharing the stage with Slipknot, Metallica and System of a Down.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 8 Foot Sativa

Releases

10 Years of Sativa
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Shadow Masters
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Poison Of Ages
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Breed The Pain
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Season For Assault
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Hate Made Me
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Gig Review: Judas Priest @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/03/2019
18 Mar 2019 // by terry666
It was a very sad day when Ozzy Osbourne had to cancel his New Zealand tour, but it came with a silver lining. We had one Judas Priest show, turning them from being a support slot to full headliners.
Read More...
ATU - EP Review: Point of View
22 Jan 2019 // by terry666
ATU's Point of View is an instrumental EP mainly focused on the guitar but written, performed, recorded and mastered in its entirety by ATU. It has an amazing cover, which in itself asks a question.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by terry666
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by terry666
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem