21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kingston - Black & Bloom Album Review

21 Aug 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

A line from Kingston’s Wikipedia entry reads “Kingston's debut album (title unknown) is set to be released in New Zealand in 2011.” After pulling a Chinese Democracy their album Black & Bloom has finally been released into the world.

Black & Bloom has a truly international sound, owing to Brandon Friesen’s work at the mixing desk and Tom Baker (not the guy from Dr Who) handling the mastering. Look those guys up. Their discography includes almost every soundtrack to each day of my angsty teenage years. 

I’ve heard this band. You’ve heard this band. We’ve all heard this band. If I played you their debut single Good Good Feeling right now, you probably couldn’t place it, but you’d definitely recognise it. I might even make you feel like some KFC. Perhaps You Want It will make you want to buy a Ford Kuga.

If you loved Kingston’s singles and are dying for more, Black & Bloom is the perfect Kingston fix between ad breaks. The rest of the album, high energy pop rock with a new wave punk slant, is just as uplifting and infectiously catchy. Black & Bloom is best played loud.

You can find Kingston’s Black & Bloom on iTunes or at all good record stores.

Black & Bloom
View Track Listing
 

About Kingston

Kingston are a four piece alternative power-pop band with a high energy live show and the catch to match. Forming in early 2006, the band have started gathering steady momentum and established a place in Auckland's live scene, gaining respect from fans of all ages.

Having released their debut video for their first single 'Good Good Feeling' they are also 2008's New Zealand Schools Tour band covering the whole country on a 6 week nationwide tour spanning July, August & September. So far the band has played with some of New Zealand's top bands and have been turning music industry heads here in NZ & internationally. Kingston pride themselves on having a fresh and catchy sound that leaves all who listen feeling great.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kingston

Releases

Black & Bloom
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem