5 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swamp Thing - Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13

19 Aug 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe. I’ve seen injustices, especially when you are an Englishman having to watch your nation piss in their own pot for so many years, but these chaps deserve so much better.

They opened the set with what is slowly becoming one of my favourite songs by Swamp Thing The Reckoning what hit me straight away, apart from the fact they are rather large and imposing in the flesh, was the moody lighting on the stage which really setup the proceeding emotions that this band is able to garnish. The opening song was very emphatic; I was mesmerised by their presence and the production of a two man band. The drummer Michael Barker, is in my mind the quintessential musician, the man has more talent in his left stick, then I have in my whole body and in my soon to be wife..

They did a great job getting the crowd involved by handing out different instruments to one of their songs which got a good reaction. In all the boys did interact well with the crowd, unlike some artists who will just play their music, take the money, and leave. At least they were up front with why they were talking between songs and being on the ball.. They wanted our money J

Personally I marked out for a Mr Brittas mention whilst a story was being told. The only downside that I could find with this gig, and I want to be clear, this gig was very, very good, was the fact that the lead singer ‘Swamp Bro’ was being drowned out by the zealous drumming. It was a bad point from my own selfish point of view because I think his voice is simply majestic.

All in all this was a fantastic experience, stupendous musicians, a plethora of musical genres for everyone’s taste.  At one point a monza, and a glockenspiel made an appearance, much to my delight. A great band with a great future, long live the swamp bro and his sweaty swamp smell.

Song List:

The Reckoning
Stalker Song
Monza
Genius
Bones
Bumping & Grinding
Come With Me
Hand in a Hole

(There was more but I missed a few of the song titles unfortunately)

 

About Swamp Thing

They're the two left in the juke joint when the hurricane's about to make landfall, when the revelers have gone home, sweat-soaked and exhausted. The bulbs are blown out, the floor's full of glass, but two men are honor bound to keep playing, pouring their sweat into the parched earth like libation. In the best traditions of two man blues and roots, Swamp Thing is a duo that you know are playing to stay alive.

A former member of The John Butler Trio, Michael Barker (drums/ percussion/ KeyBass/Vocals) formed the two man blues/roots duo Swamp Thing with Grant Haua vocals/guitar in 2010.

These two unique musicians share a wealth of experience to craft blues- flavoured music with a deep groove and soulful spook. Their first studio album Balladeer was recorded at Roundhead studios in may 2011 and their second album Primordium recorded at Barker's studio Twisty Pole in 2012 was released in January 2013.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swamp Thing

Releases

Let's Get Live
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Primordium
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Balladeer
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem