28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Swamp Thing - Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13

19 Aug 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe. I’ve seen injustices, especially when you are an Englishman having to watch your nation piss in their own pot for so many years, but these chaps deserve so much better.

They opened the set with what is slowly becoming one of my favourite songs by Swamp Thing The Reckoning what hit me straight away, apart from the fact they are rather large and imposing in the flesh, was the moody lighting on the stage which really setup the proceeding emotions that this band is able to garnish. The opening song was very emphatic; I was mesmerised by their presence and the production of a two man band. The drummer Michael Barker, is in my mind the quintessential musician, the man has more talent in his left stick, then I have in my whole body and in my soon to be wife..

They did a great job getting the crowd involved by handing out different instruments to one of their songs which got a good reaction. In all the boys did interact well with the crowd, unlike some artists who will just play their music, take the money, and leave. At least they were up front with why they were talking between songs and being on the ball.. They wanted our money J

Personally I marked out for a Mr Brittas mention whilst a story was being told. The only downside that I could find with this gig, and I want to be clear, this gig was very, very good, was the fact that the lead singer ‘Swamp Bro’ was being drowned out by the zealous drumming. It was a bad point from my own selfish point of view because I think his voice is simply majestic.

All in all this was a fantastic experience, stupendous musicians, a plethora of musical genres for everyone’s taste.  At one point a monza, and a glockenspiel made an appearance, much to my delight. A great band with a great future, long live the swamp bro and his sweaty swamp smell.

Song List:

The Reckoning
Stalker Song
Monza
Genius
Bones
Bumping & Grinding
Come With Me
Hand in a Hole

(There was more but I missed a few of the song titles unfortunately)

 

About Swamp Thing

They're the two left in the juke joint when the hurricane's about to make landfall, when the revelers have gone home, sweat-soaked and exhausted. The bulbs are blown out, the floor's full of glass, but two men are honor bound to keep playing, pouring their sweat into the parched earth like libation. In the best traditions of two man blues and roots, Swamp Thing is a duo that you know are playing to stay alive.

A former member of The John Butler Trio, Michael Barker (drums/ percussion/ KeyBass/Vocals) formed the two man blues/roots duo Swamp Thing with Grant Haua vocals/guitar in 2010.

These two unique musicians share a wealth of experience to craft blues- flavoured music with a deep groove and soulful spook. Their first studio album Balladeer was recorded at Roundhead studios in may 2011 and their second album Primordium recorded at Barker's studio Twisty Pole in 2012 was released in January 2013.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Swamp Thing

Releases

Let's Get Live
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Primordium
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Balladeer
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by Chris Chick
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem