4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Symphony of Screams - Radio Candy Album Review

31 Jul 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald

Ok, I'm officially scared in this turmoil of hatred. Only joking, or am I? Read on.

Radio Candy from The Symphony of Screams is a perfectly balanced album for rock/metal fans, with enough public appeal for some commercial hits.

The album kicks off with the song Radio Candy with awesome guitar riffs which ooze gravelly energy and nastiness very reminiscent of classic Metallica. Combined with screams of terror, grungy bass and deep drums, this is a classic.

There is a unique play on the metal genre with quirky sounds such as dogs barking (I think that was on the album), and radio broadcast commentary which gives the album a light hearted feel throughout.

The Auckland band changes tempo more times in one song than other bands do in an entire album, which keeps you on your toes. Some shifts work better than others and it can feels like the band has made a recording error, believe me they haven’ and you get used to this after a few listens. Very clever.

The brilliant variation between slow ballad type songs and fast rock songs gives the album a wave like flow as you go on this metal journey. The album titled final song, “Symphony of Screams” is a wonderful example of the madness.

Classic rock with a twist, but don't let your kids listen, be warned!!

Radio Candy
View Track Listing
 

About The Symphony of Screams

Auckland-based group The Symphony of Screams describe their sound as ‘grungy metal’, and to quote that bible of heavy, Kerrang! magazine, sound like “NZ Napalm who hammer it home all the way.”

The power and energy that TSOS bring to the stage is amply demonstrated by the fact that they were sought out by Capital C Productions to be the main New Zealand support act at Rock to Wellington, where fans of heavy numbering over 25,000 per night were treated to their brand of uncompromising rock assault.

Their debut album Heed to the Voices was originally an NZ-only independent release, which went down so well with fans that it was re-released worldwide in late 2012 by AllGood Absolute Alternative Records, garnering positive reviews pretty much across the board. "As good as it gets" to paraphrase but one.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Symphony of Screams

Releases

Live & Unplugged
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Radio Candy
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Heed To The Voices
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem