17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Splashh - Comfort Album Review

23 Jul 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It’s cold.  It’s wet.  It’s Palmy.

It’s amazing how Splashh’s debut Comfort transforms my predawn jaunt across the city from lamentation to liberation. How on a day without Comfort I can arrive at work as the personification of a weeping willow, and the next day as jocund as a daffodil.

I owe it all to Splashh’s high energy, sun filled release. 

The music is bright, fast and catchy. A mash-up of different styles that together form a uniquely Splashh sound that lies somewhere in alt-rock. It’s hard to pin down, without making up genres like surfgaze or psychedelic fuzz punk. And then, when you’ve decided exactly what Splashh sounds like, the next song has started and it falls beyond the boundaries of your description. It’s the same fuzzy guitars, punchy bass, fast drums and ethereal vocals, the same summery vibe, but a different style.

Comfort is like candy. The good type of candy. And the tracks are like jelly beans. Those expensive gourmet jelly beans. They’re all jelly beans, they’re all sweet, but each one has their own flavours and after tastes. And there are no liquorice ones. And just as well, because no one really likes those.

Comfort is available now. Check out the Splashh Facebook for more details on how to get your hands on it (https://www.facebook.com/splashh.band). Well worth a listen. It won’t warm you up, but it will remind you that summer is coming soon for us in the Southern Hemisphere.

 

About Splashh

Two parts New Zealand, one part Australian and one part British, SPLASHH are a psychedelic shoegaze outfit who now reside in London.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Splashh

Releases

Comfort
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem