28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ghetto Sunrise - One Drop Love EP Review

22 Jul 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

Yes, yes and yes is my new formula for a thing of beauty. This short 6 song EP is a thing of beauty that brought my senses to an almost orgasmic state. To put this review in perspective I think it is important to understand that I am a massive fan of anything that has a mixture of ska, reggae, punk and rock. This little beauty brought a fantastic mixture of these genres.

The first song Dancehall is how an album should be started, it's in your face, its hot and it makes you want to bust out a groove or two all over your dance floor that seconds as a living room. I really became invested in the sharp reggae sound accompanied by a rasping rock guitar, which continues throughout all 6 songs and adds a dimension to what could have been just another New Zealand band that’s trying to replicate the reggae sound.

One Drop Love has a very catchy opening riff, that could grace any summer hot spot around the world, and I’m sure the crowd would become just as immersed as I became. The beauty of this song was its ability to keep me wanting more. Being at the 4 minute mark also gives the listener enough, but not too much so they lose interest.

Fool and Ghetto Love brought a more subtle reggae sound to the album, that allows the listener to fall back into his recliner with a chilled glass of the good stuff and enjoy the summer weather, or strong heat pump depending on the time of year. Good Time Girl the ska influence comes in to play as the band brings the tempo up a little, much to my enjoyment. I found the lead singer's voice very easy to listen to, not ground breaking in any way, but the tone and level compliments the music.

There is no hiding the fact I really like this album, it's punchy, catchy, and just easy to listen to. It's not ground breaking or innovative, but it's slightly different to a lot of ska and reggae sounding bands around New Zealand. This is a definite buy for anyone who wants to enhance their summer experience, or needs some relaxing background music for a party.

 

About Ghetto Sunrise

Ghetto Sunrise hail from the city streets of Auckland and play a bombastic fusion of reggae, ska, dubstep and electronica. Ghetto Sunrise are on the cusp of releasing their debut record "One Drop Love". The EP was mastered by Mike Gibson, responsible for the many NZ urban albums including classic reggae records by The Black Seeds, Rhombus through to the killer grooves of the Native Sons. Ghetto Sunrise have been compared to everyone from Sublime and Katchafire but feature heavy bass driven electronic sections reminiscent of early Salmonella Dub mashed together with the latest Dubstep from the UK. Ghetto Sunrise are currently booking their first tour and are set to mash, smash and crash sound systems across the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ghetto Sunrise

Releases

Ghetto Sunrise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
One Drop Love
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by Chris Chick
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem