13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Secret Of Origin - Beyond the Grave Single Review

03 Jul 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

In case you hadn’t noticed, the 80’s are back... with a vengeance. 

The first hints of that colourful decade’s return came from PlasticGroove, with their collection of singles in a style similar to classic Pet Shop Boys.

Then came the rise of the hipsters.

Now, from the minds and bodies of semi-anonymous PlasticGroover Tony McDonald and Hops Valley Craft Beer extraordinaire Corey Watts comes the catchy neo Goth Wave single Beyond the Grave.

More towards the darker end of the 80’s pop spectrum, Beyond the Grave would sit comfortably between anything by the Cure and Bauhaus on an 80’s rock station, were one to exist. 

I have only one thing to say to this Wellington duo, known collectively as Secret of Origin; More. Give us more, damn you.

Beyond the Grave is available now. Check the Secret of Origin Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/SecretOfOrigin) for details.

 

About Secret Of Origin

Wellington Duo Secret of Origin are a rock band with a heavy focus on bass, guitar, drums, synth and vocals by Tony McDonald and Corey Watts.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Secret Of Origin

Releases

There are no releases to display for Secret Of Origin.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem