18 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Suppression - Chained And Dragged EP Review

01 Jul 2013 // A review by Asmith

So much groove in one place, how can you not at the very least get your head nodding to this? My personal thoughts on the groove>metal formula are very similar to my bacon>belly formula- I always want more even if there's no room left to put it, and Suppression have filled me up quite nicely.

Heavy guitars, heavy bass, heavy vocals, and an even heavier presence that takes you over whether you want it or not, prepare to be possessed by Suppression!

This review has taken me quite a while to write (as I'm sure the boys will tell you) but I put all the blame on them, every time I go to write something down I get distracted by the next kick ass riff and start uncontrollably moshing at my computer. There is not one song on this EP I do not like, but my favorite would have to be the very first track Depth Of Deception, the vocal melody in the chorus has been stuck in my head for over a week.

I have to admit the production quality of this EP is actually really good, and I don't really get to say that about too many unsigned kiwi metal bands, but this is slowly changing as more and more bands are saving their pennies and shipping their albums off to places like the USA to get mastered, and it has definitely paid off!

If you like it heavy your gonna love this, and I highly recommend going and getting yourself a copy of this EP. Just do it, your ears will thank you for it.

 

About Suppression

Suppression are an original 4 piece Metal act from Wellington who gain all their influences from many of the different Metal genres. With a stomping groove and an energetic stage show. Are very keen to carry on from a busy debut year in 2010 and will keep the momentum going into 20011. With hopefully a few shows round the North Island and maybe down south. Currently recording 6 demos before going into the studio to record their debut single.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Suppression

Releases

Chained And Dragged
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem