15 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Adventures Of Mikejoffa - Miss Fortunes Album Review

01 Jul 2013 // A review by Asmith

I'm a 90's kid and I gotta say I'm really feeling it, a strong 90's alt vibe, Seattle and beyond with some kiwi flavor, It's taking me on a magic carpet ride reminiscing back to a place where Dubstep does not exist and Nicky Minaj is not somehow making money in the music industry. I know at some point I will have to come back to reality where these things exist but for now I'm enjoying it while I got it.

For me Mikejoffa is the missing link, and not in an underdeveloped species kinda way, hipsters have already claimed that, I mean this is that middle ground that has been missing from rock music for so long. It's not so heavy it becomes hard rock, it's not soft, dense or contrived enough to become indie, it's grungy kiwi alt rock and it's got itself a permanent place on my playlist.

The vocals are ballsy, not like the pop vocals you hear in most of the "rock" music being played on the radio these days, hell the guitars have balls, the bass has balls, even the drums have balls, it's like a big ol' pair of testicles playing rock music.

There's a bit of everything on here too, you can chill out with tracks like Good Buy, or rock out with one of the heavier tracks like Wasteage, both personal favorites of mine off this album, there really is a bit of something for everyone.

I highly recommend you get a copy of this, you NEED to get a copy of this, it's essential kiwi listening- trust me, I'm on a magic carpet.

Miss Fortunes
View Track Listing
 

About The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

The Adventures of Mikejoffa was formed by Doug ten Broeke and Ezekiel Clark around 2007- 2008 in the Wellington region, with the first members being Aaron Gunn (The Heathen Collective) and Josh O' Brien (Deny).

In the small town Carterton, mikejoffa produced their first EP Eventures, released May 6 2011.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Adventures Of Mikejoffa

Releases

Miss Fortunes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Eventures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem