15 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Drab Doo Riffs - Aquatic Ape Theory EP Review

28 Jun 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

Overall this concept EP left me feeling very flat and not at all inspired, but there were some highlights that perked up that interest. If you’re a fan of the movie Pulp Fiction there is a similar sound radiating from The Drab Doo Riffs. There is a common theme emitting from this EP, a sound very similar to surfing and spaghetti western from the late 50’s early 60’s musical era, with a punk/rock twist. Unfortunately from this reviewer’s point of view, it unfortunately does not resonate well with my receptors.

Their opening song Tesla Girl whether warranted or not, has a distinct Arctic Monkeys sound to it, but unlike them, it falls slightly flat of some great sounds they originally brought to us. As an opening track I firmly believe you need to grab hold of the listener, throttle them a little without being over powering to let them know you have entered the building and you need take notice. Unfortunately it was not as dramatic entrance as I was hoping for. The second song Do The Cat has a 1950’s Rock n Roll sound, with a pounding guitar riff and in your face drumming that blends into a very pleasant instrumental number. Both 85/0 and Grey Matter were both drab affairs with no real rhyme or reason.

The highlight of this album was the self titled track Aquatic Ape Theory. This instrumental number found its mark on me with the mixture of a relaxed enticing beginning that drew me closer and closer to the crescendo in the middle that opened up a flurry of emotions that allowed me to really compose a story in my head. It’s a shame it took until the 6th song for me to become enticed.

This album did nothing of note and failed to engage my mood, it was not able to grab my attention on the first play, but it did slowly grow on me the more I listened. I would give this album a 6/10. There is definitely enough scope I feel, for the group to aspire to create and release stronger music in the future.

 

About The Drab Doo Riffs

Popular among deadbeats in the early 21st century, this 5-piece music-playing band hailed from the greater South Pacific Ocean region. Their pulsating guitar, bass, and drum driven sound was rendered obsolete with the demise of human civilisation, but has since regained vogue with interplanetary travelers, as, by all accounts, it rules to ride rockets to.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Drab Doo Riffs

Releases

Aquatic Ape Theory
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Home Surgery: 2009-2013
Year: 2013
Type: Album
A Fistful Of Doo Riffs
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Postcards From Uranus
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem