19 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Drab Doo Riffs - Aquatic Ape Theory EP Review

28 Jun 2013 // A review by elchicko

Overall this concept EP left me feeling very flat and not at all inspired, but there were some highlights that perked up that interest. If you’re a fan of the movie Pulp Fiction there is a similar sound radiating from The Drab Doo Riffs. There is a common theme emitting from this EP, a sound very similar to surfing and spaghetti western from the late 50’s early 60’s musical era, with a punk/rock twist. Unfortunately from this reviewer’s point of view, it unfortunately does not resonate well with my receptors.

Their opening song Tesla Girl whether warranted or not, has a distinct Arctic Monkeys sound to it, but unlike them, it falls slightly flat of some great sounds they originally brought to us. As an opening track I firmly believe you need to grab hold of the listener, throttle them a little without being over powering to let them know you have entered the building and you need take notice. Unfortunately it was not as dramatic entrance as I was hoping for. The second song Do The Cat has a 1950’s Rock n Roll sound, with a pounding guitar riff and in your face drumming that blends into a very pleasant instrumental number. Both 85/0 and Grey Matter were both drab affairs with no real rhyme or reason.

The highlight of this album was the self titled track Aquatic Ape Theory. This instrumental number found its mark on me with the mixture of a relaxed enticing beginning that drew me closer and closer to the crescendo in the middle that opened up a flurry of emotions that allowed me to really compose a story in my head. It’s a shame it took until the 6th song for me to become enticed.

This album did nothing of note and failed to engage my mood, it was not able to grab my attention on the first play, but it did slowly grow on me the more I listened. I would give this album a 6/10. There is definitely enough scope I feel, for the group to aspire to create and release stronger music in the future.

 

About The Drab Doo Riffs

Popular among deadbeats in the early 21st century, this 5-piece music-playing band hailed from the greater South Pacific Ocean region. Their pulsating guitar, bass, and drum driven sound was rendered obsolete with the demise of human civilisation, but has since regained vogue with interplanetary travelers, as, by all accounts, it rules to ride rockets to.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Drab Doo Riffs

Releases

Aquatic Ape Theory
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Home Surgery: 2009-2013
Year: 2013
Type: Album
A Fistful Of Doo Riffs
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Postcards From Uranus
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By elchicko

Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by elchicko
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by elchicko
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
Supervillains (RMC) - SVRMC EP Review
09 Sep 2013 // by elchicko
I love taking on new challenges, I put my head down and meet the oncoming collision without any thought for my well being.  When I was given this assignment, I made a few trips to the world of the internet, to research this chaps, to assume the attack position.
Read More...
Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13
19 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe.
Read More...
Swamp Thing - Primordium Album Review
07 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
If you have never heard of this band, its hard to imagine that it’s a twosome with the full sound they seem to generate. The first thing that struck me was the presence of the singer’s voice.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise - One Drop Love EP Review
22 Jul 2013 // by elchicko
Yes, yes and yes is my new formula for a thing of beauty. This short 6 song EP is a thing of beauty that brought my senses to an almost orgasmic state.
Read More...
The Phoenix Foundation - Fandango Album Review
12 May 2013 // by elchicko
No relation to the pro wrestler, The Phoenix Foundation bring us their newest collaboration of music Fandango. The first track Black Mould sets up the whole album, a hypnotic, lazy boy afternoon in the sun experience, preferably with a view of glistening snowy mountain tops, which fortunately is never to far away when you are in the South Island.
Read More...
Alizarin Lizard - Do You Just Want Me To Watch You? Album Review
29 Apr 2013 // by elchicko
The beautiful aspect of music is its charming way of bringing out nostalgic value to the listener. From the first chord, to the Damon Albarn strain radiating across the sound waves, the Lizards hit the right chord.
Read More...
View All Articles By elchicko

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem