7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Drab Doo Riffs - Aquatic Ape Theory EP Review

28 Jun 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

Overall this concept EP left me feeling very flat and not at all inspired, but there were some highlights that perked up that interest. If you’re a fan of the movie Pulp Fiction there is a similar sound radiating from The Drab Doo Riffs. There is a common theme emitting from this EP, a sound very similar to surfing and spaghetti western from the late 50’s early 60’s musical era, with a punk/rock twist. Unfortunately from this reviewer’s point of view, it unfortunately does not resonate well with my receptors.

Their opening song Tesla Girl whether warranted or not, has a distinct Arctic Monkeys sound to it, but unlike them, it falls slightly flat of some great sounds they originally brought to us. As an opening track I firmly believe you need to grab hold of the listener, throttle them a little without being over powering to let them know you have entered the building and you need take notice. Unfortunately it was not as dramatic entrance as I was hoping for. The second song Do The Cat has a 1950’s Rock n Roll sound, with a pounding guitar riff and in your face drumming that blends into a very pleasant instrumental number. Both 85/0 and Grey Matter were both drab affairs with no real rhyme or reason.

The highlight of this album was the self titled track Aquatic Ape Theory. This instrumental number found its mark on me with the mixture of a relaxed enticing beginning that drew me closer and closer to the crescendo in the middle that opened up a flurry of emotions that allowed me to really compose a story in my head. It’s a shame it took until the 6th song for me to become enticed.

This album did nothing of note and failed to engage my mood, it was not able to grab my attention on the first play, but it did slowly grow on me the more I listened. I would give this album a 6/10. There is definitely enough scope I feel, for the group to aspire to create and release stronger music in the future.

 

About The Drab Doo Riffs

Popular among deadbeats in the early 21st century, this 5-piece music-playing band hailed from the greater South Pacific Ocean region. Their pulsating guitar, bass, and drum driven sound was rendered obsolete with the demise of human civilisation, but has since regained vogue with interplanetary travelers, as, by all accounts, it rules to ride rockets to.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Drab Doo Riffs

Releases

Aquatic Ape Theory
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Home Surgery: 2009-2013
Year: 2013
Type: Album
A Fistful Of Doo Riffs
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Postcards From Uranus
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem