27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jan Hellriegel - Lost Songs Album Review

16 Jun 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald

Well Jan has definitely uncovered some gems in this Lost Songs album. It is certainly a female classic rock collection and as Jan explains in the CD sleeve the songs were left behind because she didn't want to be pigeon holed into this female rock genre.

I was expecting badly mixed and produced old recordings but was pleasantly surprised with the quality and clarity. There is some background noise, hissing and some songs sound muddy, but then again this is to be expected from resurrected DAT tapes.

Track 3 - Old Man Says sticks out as one of my favourites with excellent drumming and up tempo toe tapping rock goodness.

Track 9 - Your Mind is Amaze has fantastic deep and raunchy guitar sounds and cool riffs. Turn it up loud and destroy your speakers!

A few tracks let the album down for me, including Burger Generation (Track 10), it wafts along and the vocals are too piercing. The background hissing is also unbearable.

Just as I was getting a little tired of some mediocre tracks, I was brought out of my slumber for tracks 15 & 16, On Ice and Blissfully Unaware. These are two great songs that stand out in their own right.

The last two songs on the album don’t fit at all and are drum and bass style remixes, maybe they should have stayed Lost Songs as it just doesn't feel right.

Overall if you are a Jan fan, what are you waiting for?

Lost Songs
View Track Listing
 

About Jan Hellriegel

Jan Hellriegel was born in West Auckland to a family of six. While it is true that she worked at her father's panelbeaters (A.F. Hellriegel Panelbeaters Ltd) it was, contrary to popular legend, in the office and not pumping iron. Nonetheless, she has always been the New Zealand media's 'Westie' darling.

Jan moved to Dunedin to attend Otago University, where she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts, and met up with the friends who would later become Cassandra's Ears. Jan also took vocal training in Speech and Singing at Sister Mary Leo.

At this point she joined her brother Rob's band, Working With Walt, and sang on their 1985 EP '4 Sides', even writing one song, 'Christina', and playing guitars. Between 1989 and 1991 Cassandra's Ears formed to record a song for a Dunedin rock compilation, 'Weird Culture Weird Custom'. Their song The Replacements was released by National Student Radio. The band played local gigs, wrote more material, and eventually released two popular records, 'Private Wasteland' and 'Your Estimation'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jan Hellriegel

Releases

All The Best Thoughts
Year: ????
Type: EP
Sportsman of the Year
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Lost Songs
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Melusine
Year: 2010
Type: EP
All Grown Up
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Tremble
Year: 1995
Type: Album
It's My Sin
Year: 1993
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Violet Highway - Single Review - Sick of Waiting
12 May 2022 // by Tony McDonald
I love the ending to this pop rock song - it's not your typical finish... so, make sure to check the song out all the way through.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem