2 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beastwars - Beastwars @ The Royal 18/05/2013

25 May 2013 // A review by Asmith
Turbostill were the first to grace the stage with their dirty grungy swamp rock n roll, with gravelly vocals laid over top. Simple catchy hooks and a steady rhythm section got the crowd off to a good start, and there was a surprising amount of people already there.

 

Deaths Door were up next and took the brutal up a few levels, the vox jumping all over the stage from the start, and the very 1st breakdown had the whole band moshing in unison. More and more people were pouring in to my surprise but the pit was still kinda standoffish.

 

Anxious to see the “new” Cephalopod, I was eager to watch them take the stage with the new drummer, especially after previously finding myself addicted to this band.

 

Unfortunately right from the very first song the sound was well out which was a major let down for me as I was looking forward to the triumphant return of one of my favourite New Zealand bands. The bass was louder than even the drummer (who just happens to be one of the heaviest hitters I know) and I could hardly hear the guitar which had a little bit too much treble to give clarity at such a low volume. This is not really a fault of anyone in particular as they played immaculately and I can understand a soundman’s trouble mixing a band like this for the first time, maybe I’m just being anal about it? The crowd loved it and the pit finally went mental, it was good to see ceph back in action doing their thing with everyone putting on a great show, and I still can’t help but want more!

 

Finally we got to the headliners, Beastwars! This was probably the biggest crowd I’ve seen at the royal since 8 Foot Sativa, which I will admit I wasn’t really expecting (to that degree), but even the side of the stage was packed out!

 

If for some reason you have been living under a rock and have not heard Beastwars yet I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised, groove and distortion filled riffs and a clear full sound, with a vocalist as raw and powerful as the music behind him (for which I give full credit to his epic beard, as a man of the beard myself I too know the power within a man’s beard, although mine does not have the power to pull in as many bearded brothers as this guys does, so many beards in the crowd!!!)

 

Even after the guitarist broke a string they kept going and it still sounded as crunchy and catchy as ever, the crowd got right into it and I couldn’t help but get infected too (mainly with tinnitus, but it was worth it), I’m looking forward to seeing these guys again but for now I’m off to get a copy of their new album Blood Becomes Fire.

 

About Beastwars

New Zealand sludge metal four-piece Beastwars abide by one steadfast maxim: Obey the Riff. Described as "a mongrel mix of Kyuss, Neurosis, and the mighty Godflesh..." (NZ Herald) and playing "heavy tunes for heavy times" (ALARM), the Wellington-based sonic soothsayers utilize the chaos that engulfs our world as ammunition for their defiant howls into the abyss.

Two years on from their internationally acclaimed, self-titled debut, Beastwars return on 20 April 2013 with Blood Becomes Fire. The new album serves witness to the end of days, told through the eyes of a dying traveler from another time. It is a work inspired by eternal themes. "It's a reflection on mortality, death and disease. Sooner or later they come for all of us and we've all screamed to the gods for answers, not that they've ever come."

On Blood Becomes Fire Beastwars hammer the story home with concussive force. "It’s a heavy album, both sonically and lyrically, but what solidifies it are the really triumphant 'fuck yeah' riffs. To us, this music is like getting psyched up to go into battle. You could be at war with someone else or yourself.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beastwars

Releases

IV
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Death Of All Things
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Blood Becomes Fire
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Beastwars
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
Tomorrow People - One.5 EP Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Tomorrow People is one of my favourite kiwi reggae acts. There's something about them that's very genuine, something that (for me at least) really stands out from the sea of other reggae bands (and they're even better live!
Read More...
House Of Shem - Harmony Album Review
06 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
Upon acquiring the third release from kiwi reggae artists House Of Shem I was filled with anticipation, eager to see what they had in store for me this time, and I wasn't left disappointed! With three part harmonies remaining a heavy base within the music, the switch between vocalists/songwriters is felt throughout the album all while remaining distinctly House Of Shem.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem