15 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Penknife Glides - Pleasure Thru Tears Album Review

14 May 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Straight out of 80’s and onto your stereo, Penknife Glides are back and bring you their newest release. Pleasure Thru Tears is a collection of songs written by the band between ’81 and ’85 as punk pulled itself to pieces and began its twenty year hibernation.

Pleasure Thru Tears has come (back) at the perfect time. We’ve now reached that time Deja Voodoo sung about all those years ago. A time where the majority of the people frequenting our town’s nightclubs weren’t conceived in the 80’s, and I must admit I was still a twinkle in the swinging proverbials of my father when Penknife Glides first entered the scene. What better time to reacquaint these retrophilic youths with the sound that was New Zealand and show them what they were missing.

I don’t want to start a name all the 80’s bands Penknife Glides make you want to relisten to, so I’ll just throw some random names out there. Pet Shop Boys. Joy Division. Depeche Mode. The Clash. Sex Pistols. Take those bands, and imagine they had the tightness and technical proficiency of Mason Williams’ ‘68 hit Classical Gas and you’ll be imagining the Penknife Glides vibe. Punk performed by people that could actually play their instruments.

Pleasure Thru Tears is out now and available through iTunes, or if you’re lucky enough to live in the only city in the country with a Real Groovy left in it, you’ll find it there.

Pleasure Thru Tears
View Track Listing
 

About Penknife Glides

Seasoned with the cut and thrust of British pop and a slice of pork pie Penknife Glides formed in 1980 after the punk scene started to fragment in Auckland. They released a single and two EP's before moving to London in 1982.

PKG disbanded in 1986 but have recently begun collaborating once again. Their new CD entitled 'A Stab In The Dark' is out now. This album covers the bands formative yrs in NZ from 1980-82.and is available from Real Groovy Records or via the bands website www.penknifeglides.com and itunes.
Stay tuned for a further release of all their UK songs from 1982-86 which is expected in 2012/13.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Penknife Glides

Releases

Pleasure Thru Tears
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • THE WOO
    Pop Smoke feat. 50 Cent And Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem