22 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Penknife Glides - Pleasure Thru Tears Album Review

14 May 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Straight out of 80’s and onto your stereo, Penknife Glides are back and bring you their newest release. Pleasure Thru Tears is a collection of songs written by the band between ’81 and ’85 as punk pulled itself to pieces and began its twenty year hibernation.

Pleasure Thru Tears has come (back) at the perfect time. We’ve now reached that time Deja Voodoo sung about all those years ago. A time where the majority of the people frequenting our town’s nightclubs weren’t conceived in the 80’s, and I must admit I was still a twinkle in the swinging proverbials of my father when Penknife Glides first entered the scene. What better time to reacquaint these retrophilic youths with the sound that was New Zealand and show them what they were missing.

I don’t want to start a name all the 80’s bands Penknife Glides make you want to relisten to, so I’ll just throw some random names out there. Pet Shop Boys. Joy Division. Depeche Mode. The Clash. Sex Pistols. Take those bands, and imagine they had the tightness and technical proficiency of Mason Williams’ ‘68 hit Classical Gas and you’ll be imagining the Penknife Glides vibe. Punk performed by people that could actually play their instruments.

Pleasure Thru Tears is out now and available through iTunes, or if you’re lucky enough to live in the only city in the country with a Real Groovy left in it, you’ll find it there.

Pleasure Thru Tears
View Track Listing
 

About Penknife Glides

Seasoned with the cut and thrust of British pop and a slice of pork pie Penknife Glides formed in 1980 after the punk scene started to fragment in Auckland. They released a single and two EP's before moving to London in 1982.

PKG disbanded in 1986 but have recently begun collaborating once again. Their new CD entitled 'A Stab In The Dark' is out now. This album covers the bands formative yrs in NZ from 1980-82.and is available from Real Groovy Records or via the bands website www.penknifeglides.com and itunes.
Stay tuned for a further release of all their UK songs from 1982-86 which is expected in 2012/13.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Penknife Glides

Releases

Pleasure Thru Tears
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem