21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Fire At Will - The Way Out Album Review

12 May 2013 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Rising from the ashes of Auckland’s My Asylum and South Africa’s The Narrow, multinational Hard Rock act Fire at Will are taking New Zealand and South Africa by storm.  

Citing Lost Prophets and Breaking Benjamin as influences, their sound is a tight, hard hitting mix of the best parts of these two iconic bands. The guitar is heavy, the vocals are catchy, the drums make you trash your steering wheel in rush hour traffic jams. What more could you want?

Their single, the seething riffagery that is Can’t Wait, is doing the circuits on commercial radio already, and expect to hear more with the release of their debut album The Way Out. The album is a steady slew of potential singles, all hard and heavy, all mosh inducing, all catchy as hell.

If you haven’t yet, download The Way Out from iTunes, and you’re still not late to catch Fire at Will live on tour. Check their websites for dates and details.

The Way Out
View Track Listing
 

About Fire At Will

Fire At Will are a 5 Piece Rock Band from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in late 2010 by members of Auckland band My Asylum and South African Rock Icons The Narrow and Not My Dog.

Taking influence from Foo Fighters, Breaking Benjamin, Story Of The Year, Queens of the Stone Age and Rise Against along with their individual styles and past bands, Fire At Will deliver a unique brand of Hard Rock N Roll.

Fire At Will perform on stage as though they have been doing it together for years, yet they only formed in September 2010. With My Asylum playing shows extensively around Auckland and completing a North Island tour, guitarists Kev and Josh and Rhythm Section Will and Charlie give a solid backing to the vocal Powerhouse that is Hanu De Jong.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fire At Will

Releases

Olympus 2.0
Year: 2015
Type: EP
The Way Out
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem