8 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alizarin Lizard - Do You Just Want Me To Watch You? Album Review

29 Apr 2013 // A review by Chris Chick

The beautiful aspect of music is its charming way of bringing out nostalgic value to the listener. From the first chord, to the Damon Albarn strain radiating across the sound waves, the Lizards hit the right chord. The album sounds simple but that is what makes the sound so entrancing, with the quick interlude of guitars on the opening track Hipster it enables the listener to fall back into their seat and allow the ensuing trip down memory lane, especially for this listener.

I used to always been drawn into music merely by its rhythm and whether that resonated with my own psyche. These days I believe a band that can not only bring that rhythm but also bring the song to life with its words, does it tell a story or is it merely incoherent drivel. A lot of the songs talk about relationships and very well done may I add. You can feel the hurt from Meal but also the excitement of chasing the opposite sex in Hipster.

The middle of the album has to be my favourite, I do enjoy a short, sharp, and ‘happy’ sound, quick rasping guitar riffs along with an audible pounding bass line. This comes in the form of Ash In Her Blankets I can only imagine what possessed the chaps to create that song, sometimes not knowing can also be a blessing in disguise.

In conclusion I became inherently invested into the beginning of this album, from its punchy guitar riffs, and the almost English sounding stringy vocals. The end of the album is where I felt let down, almost like a 20 year marriage where the wife finds out her husband is in actual fact a Welsh man, it takes a little getting used to.

I’ll definitely be keeping my eye out for these quintessential chaps in the future.

Do You Just Want Me To Watch You?
View Track Listing
 

About Alizarin Lizard

Alizarin Lizard are four young men intent on avoiding the real world by living in one huge musical party until it all goes horribly wrong. The Lizard was forged in late 2008 amid chaos and confusion, and spent the next year concocting weird pop songs and freaking out the punters. During one of the longest band tours around NZ in 2010, the band tightened up and shook off a touch of their psychedelic jacket before returning home to Dunedin to record their debut EP Oh, Colour.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alizarin Lizard

Releases

Do You Just Want Me To Watch You?
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Weekend Went Without You
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Oh, Colour
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem