22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Spikenard - MTX MT TUM FULHART EP Review

11 Apr 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald

Spikenard is an Indie band which really lifts my spirits. i.e. a band not trying to fit into any current Genre.

We Are Chosen is a great dark track, full of emotion and lyrically rich. The song plods along like a death march with percussion beating sometimes slightly off beat which really adds to the feel of the track. Great guitars, piano, bass and warm lyrics make this one of the best songs I have heard in a long time.

Waxing Boldstarts with the exact same bass slide as We Are Chosen which is weird but it glues the songs together nicely. The organ sound is very 80’s and reminds me of TearDrop Explodes by Julian Cope which for me is a huge compliment.

Journey into the light again starts with the signature bass line slide. The vocals on this track are very reminiscent of the amazing David Byrne from Talking Heads one of my favourite performers.

(Digging) A Well For The City is my least favourite track from the EP; however some Morrissey-esque vocal moments save it from being mediocre.

The whole EP is engineered well, but sounds hollow in places and some of the playing could be improved upon. If Spikenard were to reach fame and glory; as I think they should, then this music would really benefit from top quality production. I would also very much like to see them live.

 

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem